Winnipeg Architecture Foundation hosts Niakwa Park exhibition
Opening on September 7th, the Winnipeg Architecture Foundation will open its new Niakwa Park exhibition, which will run until September 21st at 266 McDermot Avenue in downtown Winnipeg. This exhibit will showcase the design of the Niakwa Park subdivision, from the original plans to individual homes.
Winnipeg’s Niakwa Park is located north of Fermor Avenue, south of the Windsor Park Golf Course, and adjacent to the Seine River. This park-like neighbourhood was developed in the mid-1950s. When it was proposed, the project sought to construct 160 homes on 16.2 acres of land. The area’s homes were designed by Nicola Zunic, a 1950 graduate of the University of Manitoba’s School of Architecture.
The Winnnipeg Architecture Foundation’s Niakwa Park exhibition is curated by Marieke Gruwel, with research contributions from Jeffery Thorsteinson and Susan Algie. All ages welcome to the exhibition, and colouring sheets of Zunic’s original Niakwa Park homes will be made available. Support for this exhibition has been generously provided by Young Canada Works.
The new exhibition will come on the heels of the Winnipeg Architecture Foundation’s previous Cover Girls: Women, Advertising, and Architecture Summer exhibit, which explored the ways women were depicted in advertisements that appeared in Canadian architectural magazines and journals published between 1950 and 1975.
More information about the upcoming Niakwa Patrk exhibition is available via the Winnipeg Architecture Foundation’s official website, linked here.