Winners of VisitAble Housing Awards of Excellence announced

The results of the VisitAble Housing Awards of Excellence were recently announced, and the winners of the following categories were selected by a seven-member jury.

In the Single-Family Detached Homes category, Platinum Living took first prize, while the Sands of Time won second prize.

In the Multi-Family Unit Development category, Place La Charrette won first prize, and River point Centre was awarded second prize.

Special recognition of a heritage project distinguished the rehabilitation of Government House, home to the Nova Scotia Lieutenant Governor.

The following projects received Honourable Mentions: Crosbie Home, Roscoe Home, Faid Home, Gauthier Home, Good Samaritan/Habitat for Humanity Residence, Irene Baron Eden Centre, Vickers Ave and Marie Rose Place.

The steering committee was comprised of: Alan Tate, Professor of Landscape Architecture, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg; Anne Sinclair, architect, Halifax; Glen Manning, Principal at HTFC Planning & Design, Winnipeg; Mark Iantkow, PhD Candidate and accessibility consultant, Calgary; Youn-Young Park, Project Manager, Canadian Centre on Disability Studies, Winnipeg; and Allen Mankewich, Communications Coordinator, Canadian Centre on Disability Studies, Winnipeg.

The jury was comprised of: Monica Giesbrecht, HTFC PLANNING & DESIGN, Manitoba; Paula Bowley, Paula Bowley Architects Inc., Ontario; Trevor Hoover, Home Builder, Habitat Studio, Alberta; Janice Rieger, Interior Designer, Alberta; Cal Schuler, Spinal Cord Injury Alberta, Alberta; Warren Reed, James McGregor Stewart Society, Nova Scotia; and Peter Sobchak, editor, Building magazine, Ontario.

For more information, please visit