Winners of the Architecture Canada British Columbia Advocacy Awards announced

Our cities and communities are better because of five remarkable British Columbians and organizations. On Thursday, November 7, 2013, these five will be recognized and celebrated as they receive the 2013 Architecture Advocacy Awards from the BC Chapter of Architecture Canada.

The recipients of the 4th Annual Architecture Canada BC Awards are:

*Mayor Gregor Robertson, Mayor of the City of Vancouver

*Leslie Van Duzer, Director of the UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture

*Bob Williams, Vancity Board of Directors and former Provincial Cabinet Minister and Chair of ICBC

*Michael Apostolides, The Vancouver League for Architecture and the Environment

*Stanley Kwok, architect, urban planner and city builder

These annual awards celebrate outstanding citizens who, through their vision and extraordinary efforts in the built environment, have made a significant contribution to our society. As a result of their leadership and dedication, our lives are richer, our communities more sustainable and our cities more vibrant. With these awards, we celebrate those whose work and dedication to improving the built environment, have made a difference and who might not be recognized through traditional architectural award programs.

Architecture Canada the RAIC (Royal Architectural Institute of Canada) is the county’s largest and oldest organization representing the architectural profession. The awards evening will include a keynote presentation by the distinguished Vancouver architect James K.M. Cheng, FRAIC, Architect AIBC.