Winners of the Architectural Institute of BC Awards announced

The 2006 winners of the Architectural Institute of BC’s (AIBC) Awards were announced at the professional association’s annual Presidents’ Dinner and Architectural Awards Gala on Friday, June 16 at the Westin Bayshore in Vancouver.

An annual event, the AIBC Architectural Awards honour architectural achievement in projects designed and completed by AIBC members; recognize the role of AIBC members, associates, and clients in creating excellence in the built environment; and encourage public interest in BC architects and architecture.

Three award categories receive submissions annually: the Barbara Dalyrymple Memorial Award for Community Service, given to an AIBC member for exceptional, short-term community service or for lifetime achievement; the Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia Awards, which is a juried award to recognize excellence in recent completed projects by AIBC members; and the AIBC Innovation Award, which recognizes achievements that are not strictly “architectural” but has a direct bearing on the future of architecture.

This year’s winners include:

2006 Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia Awards (LGs)
*LWPAC Lang Wilson in association with Hotson Bakker Boniface Haden for ROAR_One
*mcfarlaneGreen Architecture + Design of North Vancouver for the Prince George Airport Expansion Phase 2
*Patkau Architects for La Grande Bibliothque de Quebec

2006 Lieutenant-Governor of BC Certificates of Merit for Excellence in Architecture
*Patkau Architects for Gleneagles Community Centre
*Henriquez Partners/IBI Group for BC Cancer Research Centre

2006 AIBC Innovation Award
*LWPAC Lang Wilson in association with Hotson Bakker Boniface Haden for ROAR_One

2006 AIBC Innovation Merit Award
*Killick Metz Bowen Rose for Moricetown Gas Bar

This year’s jury also awarded a number of Special Jury Awards to projects whose designs contributed to their communities in a meaningful way or elevated architectural design for those institutions they were designed for.

2006 Special Jury Awards
*AA Robins Architect for Kits Beach Restaurant and Lifeguard facilities
*John Wall MAIBC/superkl for Millennial Time Machine
*Merrick Architecture for the Segal Graduate School of Business
*Neale Staniszkis Doll Adams Architects for Salvation Army Belkin House