Winners of the 2020 OAQ awards announced

The Ordre des architectes du Québec (OAQ)  has unveiled the winners of its awards of excellence and distinctions for 2020.  A total of 15 projects were honoured in a live, online interactive gathering.

Grand prix d’excellence and Special Mention, Innovation, Project: Espace Paddock, Design: Les architectes FABG, Client: Société du parc Jean-Drapeau, Photo credit: Steve Montpetit

This year’s Grand Prix d’excellence went to the Espace Paddock, designed by Les architectes FABG. The project, on the site of the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve racetrack in Montréal’s Parc Jean-Drapeau, also received the Ordre’s Mention for Innovation. In its design phase, the project won a Canadian Architect Award of Excellence.

The jury was chaired by French architect Dominique Jakob (Agence Jakob+MacFarlane) and comprised actress Anne-Marie Cadieux as well as architects Dominique St-Gelais (St-Gelais Montminy & Associés architectes) and Jean-Maxime Labrecque.