Winners of the 2014 Heritage Toronto Awards announced

The winners of the 2014 Heritage Toronto Awards were recently announced in a celebration at the Royal Conservatory of Music’s Koerner Hall that included the annual Willilam Kilbourn Memorial Lecture, delivered by architect Jack Diamond, who shared his thoughts on what the city of Toronto needs.

In the Book category, which recognizes well-written non-fiction books published in 2013 that explore Toronto’s archaeological, built, cultural or natural heritage and history, the Award of Excellence was given to The Massey Murder: A Maid, Her Master, and the Trial that Shocked a Country by Charlotte Gray, published by Harper Collins Publishers Ltd. An Award of Merit recognized The Stop: How the Fight for Good Food Transformed a Community and Inspired a Movement by Nick Saul and Andrea Curtis, published by Random House of Canada Ltd. Two Honourable Mentions were given to Along the Shore: Rediscovering Toronto’s Waterfront Heritage by M. Jane Fairburn (published by ECW Press Ltd.) and to Setting a Fine Table: Historical Desserts and Drinks from the Officers’ Kitchens at Fort York, edited by Elizabeth Baird and Bridget Wranich (published by Whitecap Books Ltd.).

The Short Publicatation category recognizes well-written non-fiction articles and booklets published in 2013 that explore Toronto’s archaeological, built, cultural or natural heritage and history. They may be published in hard copy or online. Here, an Award of Excellence distinguished an online article entitled “That Time a Giant Gas Balloon Dazzled Toronto” by Chris Bateman in, October 19, 2013. An Award of Merit was given to David Wencer’s online article “Historicist: Straitlaced Toronto – Corsets, Tightlacing, and the Changing Role of Women in 19th-Century Toronto” in Torontoist, October 12, 2013. An Honourable Mention recognized Chris Raible’s print article “Mackenzie Wrote Here?” which was published in The York Pioneer (annual publication of The York Pioneer & Historical Society), 2013.

In the Media category, which salutes projects such as films, videos, websites, and mobile digital applications that educate the public about aspects of Toronto’s archaeological, built, cultural or natural heritage and history, an Award of Excellence went to The Toronto Park Lot Project website (, authored/directed/produced by Wendy Smith. An Award of Merit recognized author/director/producer Nathan Ng’s website called Historical Maps of Toronto (

The Community Heritage category recognizes volunteer community-based organizations. Organizations must be currently active, and have either initiated or completed a significant activity that promotes, protects or preserves cultural or natural heritage in their neighbourhood or across the wider city of Toronto. This is a cash award and no organization is eligible to receive it more than once every five years. Award recipients receive $500 each to help assist them with their efforts. Three winners were announced: Toronto & East York Members’ Choice Winner was the Harbord Village Residents’ Association; Etobicoke & York Winner was the Village of Islington Business Improvement Area; and the Citywide Winner was La Société d’histoire de Toronto.

And finally, the William Greer Architectural Conservation and Craftsmanship Award honours owners who have undertaken projects to restore or adapt buildings or structures that have been in existence for 40 years or more or are included on the City of Toronto’s Inventory of Heritage Properties. In addition to the quality of craftsmanship, appropriateness of materials, and the use of sound conservation principles, the jury considers how well the project meets current needs while maintaining the integrity of the original design vision. Here, two Awards of Excellence were given to: the John F. Taylor House – Sisters of St. Joseph of Toronto Residence at 2 O’Connor Drive, commissioned by the Sisters of St. Joseph, and designed by Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc. (new addition) and ERA Architects Inc. (heritage conservation); and to the Market Street Redevelopment at 8 Market Street, 87 Front Street and 10-12 Market Street, commissioned by Woodcliffe Landmark Properties, and designed by Taylor Smyth Architects with heritage consultant Goldsmith Borgal & Company Ltd. Architects. Two Awards of Merit were also issued: O’Connor Estate Buildings at 50 Rowena Drive, commissioned by the Toronto Catholic District School Board with the O’Connor Irish Heritage House Committee, and designed by Kearns Mancini Architects Inc.; and the Goldring Student Centre at 150 Charles Street West, commissioned by Victoria University at the University of Toronto, and designed by Moriyama & Teshima Architects with heritage architect AREA (Architects Rasch Eckler Associates Ltd.). An Honourable Mention recognized the Lassonde Mining Innovation Centre at 170 College Street, commissioned by the University of Toronto, and designed by Baird Sampson Neuert Architects with heritage consultant William N. Greer.

For more information, please visit