Winners of the 2013 Awards of Innovation and Excellence in Public-Private Partnerships

The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships (CCPPP) has announced the 2013 recipients of the National Awards for Innovation and Excellence in Public-Private Partnerships – projects that are breaking new ground, boosting the economy and improving the lives of Canadians. The winners are providing Canadians with cleaner air, water and soil; safer, faster and better transportation options; innovative and compassionate social housing and more. And they are doing it at the highest standards of quality – while providing substantial savings and efficiencies over traditional procurement processes. The awards were presented on November 7, 2013 at the 21st Annual CCPPP National Conference.

This year’s winners include a mass transit project in Ottawa, highways in Alberta and New Brunswick and Canada’s first P3 biosolids project in Sudbury. The P3 Champion of the Year is John M. Beck, Chairman and CEO of Aecon Group Inc., an icon of the construction industry and a leader in both the corporate and non-profit worlds.

“We are seeing extraordinary and rapid evolution in the ways that P3 projects deliver robust new infrastructure and quality-of-life enhancements for Canadians,” said Mark Romoff, President and CEO, CCPPP. “These projects are using innovative financing and unique approaches to infrastructure and service delivery. They offer great solutions to Canada’s serious infrastructure deficit.”

Two Gold Award winners were announced: the Ottawa Light Rail Construction Project, Confederation Line – which won the Transportation Innovation Award, and the Route 1 Gateway Project in New Brunswick – which won the Infrastructure Award.

Also announced were three Silver Award winners: Northeast Anthony Henday Drive in Edmonton – which won the Project Financing Award; the OPP Modernization Project – which won the Infrastructure Award; and Single Room Occupancy (SRO) Renewal Initiative Project, in Vancouver’s Downtown East Side – which won the Social Housing Innovation) Award.

The C.W. Chuck Wills Award was given to the Sudbury Biosolids Management Facility, and as previously mentioned, John M. Beck was named the 2013 P3 Champion.

For more information, please visit