Winners of the 2010 OAA Awards announced

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) announced its 2010 award winners who represent the best in Ontario architectural design, innovation, and business.


Fifteen new buildings in Fort Erie, Grey Highlands, Mississauga, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ottawa, Toronto, and Walsingham have been honoured. The Lapierre House in St. Catharines and the Queen’s Quay Terminal Building in Toronto both received Landmark Awards as notable examples of the development of architecture in Ontario.


The winners are listed below:


Design Excellence


60 Richmond Street Housing Development


Teeple Architects Inc.


Centre for Urban Ecology


Taylor Hazell Architects Ltd. with Architects Alliance and gh3 inc.


Fire & Emergency Services Training Institute


Kleinfeldt Mychajlowycz Architects Incorporated


Gerstein Reading Room, Gerstein Science Information Centre


Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated


House in Frogs Hollow 

Grey Highlands



House in Grey Highlands 

Grey Highlands

Ian MacDonald Architect Inc.


MaRS Centre


Adamson Associates Architects


North House




Project Grand Jeté Stage II, The Maitland Street Residence


Goldsmith Borgal & Company Ltd. Ar


Regent Park Revitalization Phase One, Dundas /Sackville Apartments – 246 -252 Sackville Street




Royal Conservatory TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning


Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects

Southbrook Vineyards


Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated


Tallgrass Prairie Pavilion

David J. Agro

The Delegation of the Ismaili Imamat

Maki and Associates and Moriyama & Teshima Architects in collaboration


The New Canadian Plaza at the Peace Bridge

Fort Erie
NORR Limited Architects and Engineers


Landmark Award


Lapierre House

St. Catharines

James E. Secord and Saul Herzog


Queen’s Quay Terminal Building


Zeidler Partnership Architects


Concepts & Presentations


Honourable Mention
Esmond Lee

House for the Future Chorus
Honourable Mention
Sean Solowski & Steve Culver


Award of Excellence
Negar Jazbi, Przemek Latoszek & Farzam Mohajer, student team


Vacant Lot: Re-Invention of Social Space

Award of Excellence

Marcin L. Sztaba


Honourable Mention
Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc. (Kelly Buffey and Robert Kastelic)


Best Emerging Practice

Building Arts Architects Inc.


G. Randy Roberts Service Award 

Sheena Sharp


Order of da Vinci 

James M. Wight


The 2010 Awards were chosen by juries comprised of a number of members of the public whose interests and background represent the Ontario design community. One hundred and eighty-nine submissions were received and reviewed. The juries are as follows:


Design Excellence Awards       

Chair:  Larry Richards   Professor & Former Dean, University of Toronto
Matthew Searle:  Director of Marketing, IIDEX NeoCon Canada

Esther Shipman:  Curator, Architecture & Design, Design at Riverside

Gordon Dorrett:  Landscape Architect & President, Forrec

Glen Murray:  President and CEO, Canadian Urban Institute


Concepts & Presentations Awards

Chair:  Ivan Martinovic  Principal, Archdesign Group Limited, Architects & Former Owner, Urbanscape Gallery

Barbara Astman:  Camera Artist & Professor, Ontario College of Art & Design

Gareth Brennan:  President & Founder, Eventscape Inc.

Doug Panton:  Illustrator/ Designer & Creative Director at Daigneault & Panton Inc. 


Landmark, da Vinci, G.Randy Roberts Award, Best Emerging Practice Awards

Chair:  Yves Gosselin  Project Executive, Public Works and Government Services Canada

Diana Osborne:  Architect, Osborne Architect

Greg Redden:  Partner, Macdonald  Zuberec Ensslen Architects Inc.
Gerrie Doyle:  OAA President & Principal, aipm architects inc.

The awards will be presented as the OAA Celebration of Excellence hosted by OAA President Gerrie Doyle, and Evan Solomon will be the Master of Ceremonies on Friday, May 7, 2010 as part of the OAA Conference to be held in Windsor, Ontario from May 5 – 8, 2010. To purchase tickets, please visit beginning March 23, 2010.

The OAA Awards offers the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present its work to a public and professional audience; it advertises the excellence of both individual award-winners and the profession as a whole; it fosters a greater appreciation of architecture and architects among all levels of society, professional and non-professional.


The Ontario Association of Architects is a self-regulating, self-governing profession under the Architects Act. The association governs its members and regulates the practice of architecture in Ontario in order that the public interest may be served and protected.  As part of its regulatory mandate, the Association delivers a wide range of programs and services to its members and the public.


For more information, please visit