Winners of the 2009 International Torsanlorenzo Prize announced

This international prize was created to highlight completed landscape projects and to promote quality urban and private green spaces. It is open to architects and landscape planning professionals registered with the professional body in their countries. This annual prize is approved by the International Union of Architects (UIA). Two prizes are awarded in each of the following categories: landscape design, urban green spaces, private gardens and parks.


The international jury was chaired this year by Lars Nyberg of Sweden, President of the European Foundation of Landscape Architects, and the UIA was represented by one of its Vice Presidents, Kazuo Iwamura of Japan.


In the landscape design category, the first-place prize was claimed by the Spanish team of architects Pere Santamaria Garcia, Mireia Palomas and Pilar Toll along with Gemma Torras and Francesc Rubi for the Urbanization of a Foot Path in Manresa, Catalonia. Second place was taken by a Chinese team comprised of architects Jie Hu and Yixia Wu along with engineers Lushan Lu and Yi Han for the Lotus Lake Wetland Park in Tieling, China. A Mention was given to the Dutch team of architects Berno Strootman and René van der Velde along with Thijs van der Zouwen for the Lankheet Country Estate.


In the urban green spaces category, first prize was given to the Spanish team of architects Luis Vallejo Garcia-Maurino, Sacramento Garcia Pastor and Guaria Canon along with engineer Javier Menendez for the Rio Hortega Hospital’s garden landscaping in Valladolid. Second prize was claimed by the South African team of architects Graham Young, Anton Combrie, Annamari Combrie and Andrew Kerrin along with John Barnard, Erica Van Den Berg and Marco Cianfanelli for the Freedom Park in Salvokop, South Africa. Mentions was given to two project teams: Luxembourg architects Peter Latz, Aleth de Crecy, Stefanie Hackl and Christine Rupp-Stoppl for Kirckberg Central Park in Luxembourg; and Chilean architects Carla Ruttimann, Cecilia Rencoret and Beatriz Majluf for the Renaca Norte Natural Park in Chile.


In the private gardens in cities and suburbs category, first prize was claimed by French architect Anthony Paul for Le Barroux in Carpentras, France. Second prize was given to an Italian team of architects, Carlotta Montefoschi, Maria Cecilia Villanis Ziani and Niccolo Cau for the Countryside by the Sea Garden in Potenza Picena, Italy.


For more information, please visit