Winners of the 2008 Design Exchange Awards announced

The 2008 Design Exchange Awards program (DXA) promotes Canadian design excellence and recognizes the critical role of design in all types of organizations including commercial entities (large and small), not-for-profit organizations, and the public sector. The Awards also celebrate the success stories achieved through close partnerships between clients and designers. On November 25, 2008, the following award winners were announced at a gala event at the Design Exchange in downtown Toronto.

Architecture – Commercial

Best of Category – Daoust Lestage Inc., Quai des Cageux

Award of Excellence – Levitt Goodman Architects, Peel Youth Village

Award of Excellence – MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects, South Oshawa Community Centre

Award of Merit – Kleinfeldt Mychajlowycz Architects Inc., Fire & Emergency Service Training Institute

Award of Merit – Manasc Isaac Architects + Sturgess Architecture, The Water Centre

Award of Merit – Stantec Architecture Inc., Peterborough Regional Health Centre

Architecture – Residential

Best of Category – Levitt Goodman Architects, Levitt Goodman House

Best of Category – Reigo + Bauer, 12 Cassels

Award of Excellence – Kohn Shnier Architects, Prefab Cottage for Two Families

Award of Excellence – Page + Steele Architects, 112 St Clair Avenue West

Award of Merit – Paul Raff Studio, Cascade House


Award of Excellence – Davco Solutions Inc., Twin-Cut Sawmill

Award of Excellence – Ground Effects Environmental Services Inc, EK3 Electrokinetic Salt Remediation System

Award of Merit – CVT Corp., VariGen

Award of Merit – Shape Products, Pyramat Foldable Video Game Rocker

Award of Merit – Spark Innovations Inc., Pulsating Power Toothbrush

Award of Merit – Sport Systems Unlimited Corporation, Heavy-Duty Industrial Aluminum Saw Horse

Apparel/Fashion Design

Award of Merit – Gillian Batcher, Hollow Series

Award of Merit – Andrew Majtenyi, Cozy Cape

Industrial Design

Best of Category – Contexture Design, As the Crow Flies

Award of Excellence – Lumolar, Baby Fish Tide

Award of Excellence – Ninutik Maple Sugar, Sugar Bush

Award of Merit – AQUAOVO, OVOPUR

Award of Merit – Prototype Design Lab, Cloud Chandelier

Award of Merit – Shape Products, Homedics Mini Massager Series

Interior Design – Commercial

Best of Category – Kasian, Kasian Toronto Office

Award of Excellence – Gow Hastings Architects Inc., Humber Music Production Facility and Recording Studio

Award of Excellence – Seeton Shinkewski Design Group, VANOC Office Headquarters

Award of Merit – Bartlett & Associates Design, Saatchi & Saatchi Toronto

Award of Merit – Gow Hastings Architects Inc., Ryerson Student Information and Advising Centre

Award of Merit – Splyce Design, Salari

Interior Design – Residential

Best of Category – Dubbeldam Design Architects, Cabbagetown Residence

Award of Excellence – Cecconi Simone, Private Residence

Award of Excellence – Smith Vigeant Architects, Loft Encadrex

Award of Merit – Fleur-De-Lis Interior Design, One King West

Award of Merit – Sustain Design Studio, miniHome SOLO

Interior Design – Temporary or Portable

Best of Category – Chase International, Clear Spirit Marketing Centre

Award of Excellence – Reich + Petch Design International, Butterflies + Plants: Partners in Evolution

Award of Excellence – Kantelberg Design, Queen & Portland Model Suite

Award of Merit – Cecconi Simone, Charlie Sales Centre

Award of Merit – Chapman Design Group, Liberty Market Lofts – Sales Centre

Award of Merit – Kantelberg Design, 1 Bloor Presentation Lounge

Landscape Architecture

Best of Category – PLANT Architect Inc., Boustrophedon Garden

Best of Category – space2place design inc., Garden City Park Play Environment

Award of Excellence – Daoust Lestage Inc., Thematic Gardens – Promenade Samuel-de-Champlain

Award of Merit – PWL Partnership Landscape Architect Inc., Southeast False Creek Waterfront – Phase 1

Urban Design

Best of Category – Daoust Lestage Inc., Promenade Samuel-de-Champlain

Award of Excellence – Office for Urbanism, Heart of Our City Master Plan

Award of Excellence – Urban Strategies Inc., Cornell University Comprehensive Campus Master Plan

Award of Merit – Du Toit Allsopp Hillier, Corktown Footbridge

Award of Merit – space2place design inc., Spirit Trail – City of North Vancouver

Visual Communications – Brand + Identity

Best of Category – Subplot Design Inc., Kasian Architecture Brand Identity

Award of Excellence – Ion Design, GBL Identity Refresh

Award of Excellence – Perennial Inc., Aisle 43 – Reinventing Vineyard Estate Wines

Award of Merit – LEAP Advertising, Freedom Pictures Brand Identity Program

Award of Merit – lg2boutique, Stripes Branding

Visual Communications – Content Development + Editorial

Best of Category – Seed9, Art vs Commerce – The Creative Industry Series

Award of Excellence – belladonna communications, Canadian Greatness

Award of Excellence – Borxu Design, Galerie Art

Award of Merit – Bleu Blanc Rouge, Aquaovo

Award of Merit – Clear Space Design & Communications Inc., The Madison Group Vision Brochure

Award of Merit – ERA Architects, Concrete Toronto

Canadian Company or CEO With Best Design Strategy

Wayne Fyffe, Past President and CEO, Credit Valley Hospital, Carlo Fidani Peel, Regional Cancer Centre

DX Staff Choice

Lapointe Architects, Fifth Town Artisan Cheese Factory

An exhibition of the winning projects will be on display from November 25, 2008 until March 1, 2009 in the Exhibition Hall at the Design Exchange, located at 234 Bay Street in Toronto. For more information, please visit