Winners of the 2008 CSLA Excellence & Recognition Awards announced

The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) has announced that 26 projects located in Canada as well as in South Korea, Cuba and the United States have won national and regional recognition in the prestigious 2008 CSLA Awards of Excellence in Landscape Architecture. In addition, the CSLA is delighted to honour seven Canadians with the Society’s 2008 Recognition Awards.

“This year CSLA Award jurists received 57 incredible project applications from landscape architects across Canada for its Awards of Excellence. The Society also received recommendations from landscape architects across Canada about who among their peers have shown the incredible community spirit and commitment to landscape architecture that the CSLA should celebrate with the presentation of its Recognition Awards”, said CSLA President Cathy Sears.

“For me, this demonstrates the vitality of landscape architecture as a profession in Canada. All applicants and every award winner should be proud of the recognition. But the real winners are the people in Canada and around the world who get to use the fruits of great landscape architecture work on a daily basis,” concludes Sears.

The CSLA Awards of Excellence recognize and encourage excellence in all aspects of the landscape architecture profession as well as promote a strong awareness of landscape architecture among related professions, potential clients and the general public. The 2008 Awards of Excellence winners are:

Alvin D. Regehr, Landscape Architect and Zeidler Partnership Architects/Tarek El Khatib (Toronto, Ontario)
Serge Poitras, Jim Vafiades, Jim Melvin and Claude Potvin (Montral, Qubec; London, Toronto and Ottawa, Ontario)
PWL Partnership Landscape Architects Inc./Don Wuori Design (Vancouver and Surrey, British Columbia)
Phillips Farevaag Smallenberg (Vancouver)
space2place design inc. (Vancouver)
Lees & Associates (Vancouver)
EIDOS Consultants Incorporated, Robert Gibbs, FSCLA (Edmonton, Alberta)
Carlyle + Associates (Edmonton)
Katherine Dunster Unfolding Landscapes (Bowen Island, British Columbia)
Beaupr & Associs Experts Conseils inc. (Laval, Qubec)
Schollen & Company International Inc. (Toronto
Janet Rosenberg & Associates (Toronto)
Crosby Hanna & Associates (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan)
PMA Landscape Architects Ltd. and Vafiades Landscape Architect Inc. (Toronto and London
Plant Architect Inc. (Toronto)
du Toit Allsopp Hillier (Toronto)
Vafiades Landscape Architect Inc. (London)
Alexander Budrevics & Associates Ltd. (Don Mills, Ontario)
BDA Landscape Architects (Sussex, New Brunswick)
Garry Hilderman (Winnipeg, Manitoba)
Landplan Associates Ltd./Marc Boutin Architect (Calgary, Alberta)
Pluram/Daniel Arbour & Associs (DAA) Inc. (Montral)
Hilderman Thomas Frank Cram (Winnipeg)

This year, the CSLA honoured seven Canadians with its Recognition Awards to recognize their commitment to the profession of landscape architecture:

Donald W. Graham (Iroquois, Ontario)
James Taylor (Guelph, Ontario)
Peter Jacobs (Montral)
Liane McKenna (Vancouver)
Cathy Sears (Calgary)
Judy Lord (Chelsea, Qubec)
Wendy Graham (Montral)