Winners of the 2007 OAA Awards announced

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) announced its 2007 award winners who represent the best in Ontario architectural design, innovation, and business. Fifteen new buildings in Burlington, Durham, Killarney, Mississauga, and Toronto have been honoured, and the Ottawa Train Station received the Landmark Award as a notable example of the development of architecture in Ontario.

The 2007 Awards juries were comprised of a number of members of the public whose interests and background represent the Ontario design community. One-hundred-and-fifty-seven submissions were received and reviewed, and the following award-winning projects illustrate the diversity, expertise and leadership within the profession today:

Award of Excellence:
180 Queen Street West, Toronto
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects
Client: Great West Life Realty Advisors

51 Division, Toronto
Stantec Architecture Ltd.
Client: Toronto Police Service

Communications, Culture and Technology Building, Mississauga
Saucier + Perrotte Architectes
Client: University of Toronto Mississauga

Crescent Road House, Toronto
Superkl Inc., Architect
Client: Joseph and Valerie Schatzker

Discovery Landing The Waterfront at Downtown Burlington, Burlington
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects
Client: City of Burlington

Euclid Avenue House, Toronto
Levitt Goodman Architects Ltd.
Client: Dean Goodman and Janna Levitt

Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, Toronto
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Inc.
Client: The Canadian Opera House Corporation

French River Visitor Centre, Killarney
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects
Client: Government of Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

Gardiner Museum Renewal, Toronto
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects
Client: Gardiner Museum

Grist Mill 1857, Durham
William Bennett Architect
Client: Philip B. Lind

Heaslip House, The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education, Ryerson University, Toronto
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. in association with Lett Architects Inc.
Client: Ryerson University

Pachter Residence, Toronto
Teeple Architects Inc.
Client: Charles Pachter

Runnymede Library, Toronto
G.Bruce Stratton Architects
Client: Toronto Public Library

Schulich School of Business York University, Toronto
Hariri Pontarini Architects and Robbie/Young + Wright Architects
Client: York University

Young Centre for the Performing Arts, Toronto
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects
Client: George Brown College and Soulpepper Theatre Company

A New Earth
Image: Award of Excellence
Brigitte Ng, architect

The New Monumentality amidst the Grey Goo of Suburbia
Image: Honourable Mention
Neeraj Bhatia, student

Luminous (F)LIGHT from (F)LIGHT: a September 11 National Memorial for Flight 93
Image: Award of Excellence
Ken Lum, intern architect

Living Light – Bioluminescent/Solar Hybrid Panel
Artifact: Award of Excellence
Jason Le Blanc, student

Drop Collection
Artifact: Honourable Mention
Liming Rao, intern architect

Virtrium – University of Toronto Engineering Society
Concepts: Award of Excellence
Bortolotto Design Architect Inc.

Concepts: Award of Excellence
Kelly Buffey & April Wong, students

Structuring the Grey Goo of Suburbia
Concepts: Honourable Mention
Neeraj Bhatia, student

Altius Architecture Inc., Toronto

Ottawa Train Station, Ottawa
NORR Limited Architects and Engineers, the successor firm to John B. Parkin
Client: National Capital Commission

G. RANDY ROBERTS SERVICE AWARD: Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members.
Isabelle Bradbury

ORDER OF DA VINCI: Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture.
Martin Poizner

The awards will be presented at the OAA/RAIC Celebration of Excellence on Friday, May 11 as part of the OAA/RAIC Conference and Festival of Architecture to be held in Toronto, Ontario May 9 to 12, 2006. The OAA Awards will be hosted by OAA President David Craddock and RAIC President Vivian Manasc, and Erin Davis will be the Master of Ceremonies. To purchase tickets, please visit

The OAA Awards offers the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present its work to a public and professional audience; it advertises the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole; it fosters a greater appreciation of architecture and architects among all levels of society, professional and non-professional.

The Ontario Association of Architects is a self-regulating, self-governing profession under the Architects Act. The Association governs its members and regulates the practice of architecture in Ontario in order that the public interest may be served and protected. As part of its regulatory mandate, the Association delivers a wide range of programs and services to its members and the public. For more information, please visit