Winners of the 2004 Architectural Institute of BC’s Awards

On May 1, the 2004 Lieutenant-Governor of BC Medals for Excellence in Architecture were awarded to two firms and three projects. Busby + Associates Architects won for the design of the Brentwood SkyTrain Station in Burnaby and for the White Rock Operations Building in White Rock [this project was also awarded a 2004 AIBC Innovation Award], while Bing Thom Architects won for Surrey Central City in Surrey [also a recipient of the 2004 AIBC Innovation Award].

Three projects were awarded the 2004 Lieutenant-Governor of BC Certificates of Merit for Excellence in Architecture: McFarlane Green Architecture + Design for the Accessory Building in North Vancouver, Stantec Architecture in collaboration with Walter Francl Architects for the Lake City SkyTrain Station in Burnaby, and finally, IBI Group and Henriquez Partners, Architects in Joint Venture, in association with Karlsberger Company for the BC Children’s Hospital Ambulatory Care Building in Vancouver.

The 2004 AIBC Special Achievement Award was given to Donald Luxton, AIBC Associate Member and Editor of Building the West: The Early Architects of British Columbia (Talonbooks, 2003). The Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service is given to an AIBC member for exceptional, short-term community service or for lifetime achievement. This year the award was given to Richard Evans, Chair of Friends of Victory Square in Vancouver, and to John Woodworth, a retired architect in Kelowna.