Winners of Edmonton Park Pavilion Design Competition announced

The winners of an architectural competition for the design of five park pavilions for the City of Edmonton were recently announced. The competition was open to all architects eligible to be licensed in Alberta, or teams with an eligible architect licensed in Canada. Each pavilion is located in a different Edmonton park and has an individual program and budget. A portion of the program for each pavilion will be funded by the City of Edmonton and a portion will be funded by a partner organization.

The intent of the competition was to develop schemes that were buildable within the parameters of the competition package. During the technical review with the independent cost consultant, it became apparent that many pavilion designs were not within the competition budget. Second-place winners, if awarded, may be asked to enter into contract with the City of Edmonton if first-place winners cannot, so the jury decided in some cases not to award second prizes. Instead, citation awards were added to recognize excellent design ideas that were deemed during technical review to be over budget or have other technical concerns.

For Borden Park, first place was awarded to gh3, with a citation award to Denegri Bessai Studio with KIMIIS.

For Castle Downs District Park, first place was again awarded to gh3 with D’Ambrosio Architecture and Urbanism capturing second place.

For John Fry Sports Park, the Marc Boutin Architectural Collaborative Inc. won first place, ABSTRAKT Studio Inc. took second place, and Sturgess Architecture was recognized with a citation award.

For Mill Woods Sports Park, first place was given to Dub Architects Ltd. and 5468796 architecture earned a citation award.

And lastly, for Victoria Park, Rayleen Hill Architecture + Design took first place, and two citation awards were given to gh3, and to a team comprised of WilliamsonWilliamson Inc. with Donald Chong Studio.

The jury for the competition included Carol Bélanger (City Architect, Edmonton), Janet Rosenberg (Janet Rosenberg + Associates, Toronto), Steve McFarlane (mcfarlane | green | biggar architecture + design, Vancouver), and Pierre Thibault (Pierre Thibault Architecte, Quebec City).

For more information, please visit