Winners of 2015 Toronto Urban Design Awards announced

Goldring Centre for High Performance Sport, University of Toronto. Photo by Tom Arban
Goldring Centre for High Performance Sport, University of Toronto. Photo by Tom Arban

At a ceremony held at the Palais Royale on September 16, 2015, members of the design and development community celebrated the 25th anniversary of Toronto’s awards for urban design and announced the winners of the 2015 Toronto Urban Design Awards.

From an impressive 90 submissions containing a variety of built projects, visions and master plans, as well as student works, the jury selected 13 projects for Awards of Excellence and seven projects for Awards of Merit.

The 2015 jury was made up of Alex Bozikovic, Architecture Critic, The Globe and Mail; George Dark, Partner, Urban Strategies; Stephen Teeple, Teeple Architects; and Sibylle von Knobloch, Principal at NAK Design Group.

Toronto’s urban fabric has some incredible buildings, great public spaces, and interesting architecture. The way our city is being shaped is the result of hard work by businesses and people, like those recognized through this awards program,” said Councillor David Shiner (Ward 24 Willowdale), Chair of the Planning and Growth Management Committee. “It is important that we recognize the incredible contributions made by those who love Toronto for those who live in Toronto.”

The City of Toronto Urban Design Awards provide an opportunity for Torontonians to look at what has changed in their physical environment, and to credit those new buildings and places that are making a positive contribution to civic life. The awards do not recognize these designs in isolation. Rather, the awards pay tribute to architecture, urban design and landscape for the way they work in context – speaking to the built fabric of the city, establishing a sense of place and creating a rich public realm.

The 2015 award winners are:

Elements Category
Award of Excellence: Mirage (Underpass Park) – Paul Raff Studio

Private Buildings in Context – Low-Scale Category
Award of Excellence: 60 Atlantic – Quadrangle Architects with Phil Goldsmith Architects
Award of Excellence: Market Street Development – Taylor Smyth Architects with Goldsmith Borgal & Company

Private Buildings in Context – Mid-Rise Category
Award of Excellence: Fashion House – Core Architects Inc.
Award of Excellence: Five Hundred Wellington – Core Architects Inc.
Award of Merit: B. Streets Condos – Hariri Pontarini Architects

Private Buildings in Context – Tall Category
Award of Excellence: Delta Hotel Toronto – Page + Steele / IBI Group Architects
Award of Excellence: River City 1 – Saucier + Perrotte Architects with ZAS Architects

Public Buildings in Context Category
Award of Excellence: Centennial College, Ashtonbee Campus Renewal – MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects (MJMA)
Award of Excellence: Fort York Visitor Centre – Kearns Mancini Architects with Patkau Architects
Award of Excellence: Goldring Centre for High-Performance Sport, University of Toronto – Patkau Architects + MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects (MJMA)
Award of Merit: Fraser Mustard Early Learning Academy – Kohn Shnier Architects

Small Open Spaces Category
Award of Excellence: Barbara Hall Park – thinc design
Award of Merit: Four Seasons Hotel and Residences – Claude Cormier + Associés with NAK Design Group
Award of Merit: Shoreline Commemorative – Paul Raff Studio

Visions and Master Plans Category
Award of Excellence: Winter Stations 2015 – DM Studio (Daniel Madeiros), WMB Studio (Ed Butler, Daniel Whiltshire, Frances McGeown), Michaela McLeod and Nicholas Croft, Tim Olson, Lily Jeon and Diana Koncan
Award of Merit: Eglinton Connects – City of Toronto, Brook Mcllroy, planningAlliance, HDR Inc., Public Work, Antoine Grumbach & Associates, Swerhun Facilitation and Decision Making, ERA Architects, Public Workshop, N. Barry Lyons Consultants
Award of Merit: Lower Don Trail Access, Environment and Art Master Plan – DTAH, AECOM, Public Space Workshop, Andrew Davies Design, SPH Planning & Consulting, Lura Consulting

Student Projects Category
Award of Excellence: Snowcone – Lily Jeon and Diana Koncan
Award of Merit: Pedestrianizing Blocks of Slab Towers – Dustin Sauder

A display of the winning entries will take place at the following locations:

September 17 to 22, Toronto City Hall (rotunda)
September 28 to October 2, Etobicoke Civic Centre
October 5 to 9, North York Civic Centre
October 12 to 16, Scarborough Civic Centre (rotunda)

More information about the awards and a copy of the final jury report are available at