Winners of 2013 OAQ Awards of Excellence announced

The Ordre des architectes du Québec (OAQ) announced the winners of its 27th edition of the Awards of Excellence in Architecture at a ceremony held on Saturday November 16, 2013 at the Montreal Science Centre. From 187 entries, a jury presided by French architect Jacques Ferrier pre-selected 57 projects. The winners of the 2013 Awards of Excellence are distinguished by the quality and creativity of their architectural conception and execution.

The Grand Prize for Excellence was won by the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of British Columbia by Saucier + Perrotte architectes / Hughes Condon Marler Architects.

Awards of Excellence were given out in a number of categories as follows.

In the Industrial Buildings category, Centre MiQro Innovation by Cimaise/Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux Architectes.

In the Institutional buildings category, Raymond-Lévesque Library by Manon Asselin + Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes en consortium.

In the Single-Family Home category, Les Marais by Alain Carle architecte.

In the Multi-Family Home category, Résidences Saint-Zotique by_naturehumaine.

In the Commercial Buildings category, GlaxoSmithKline administrative building by Coarchitecture Inc.

In the Interior category, Fondation Guido Molinari by_naturehumaine.

In the Conservation or Restoration category, Montréal City Hall by Affleck de la Riva architectes.

In the Adaptive Reuse category, Phi Centre by Atelier in Situ + Shapiro Wolfe – and the Mies van der Rohe Gas Station conversion by Les architectes FABG.

A special mention for sustainability went to the GlaxoSmithKline administrative building by Coarchitecture Inc.

And the People’s Choice Award went to the Maison du développement durable by Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux Architectes.