Winners of 2013 ARIDO Awards announced

The Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario (ARIDO) announced the winners of its annual Awards program during a gala dinner last week at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto. One of the most highly regarded honours in the industry, the ARIDO Awards recognize excellence, innovation and creativity in interior design. This year’s winners include a Project of the Year, three Awards of Excellence and 15 Awards of Merit.

ARIDO member Sharon Martens of the Calgary-based firm MartensGroup licenced interior design studio ltd., received the coveted Project of the Year for the law offices of Burnet, Duckworth and Palmer, LLP. With this project, Martens demonstrated that the clichés associated with law office design could be avoided.

“ARIDO members consistently defy expectations, creating groundbreaking world-class projects,” said ARIDO president Janine Grossmann. “This law office conveys a progressive yet professional image befitting a top-tier firm.”

As in past years, the ARIDO Awards showcase a wide range of interior design talent: from retail to residential and from corporate to institutional, as well as major restoration projects. In addition to Burnet, Duckworth and Palmer, LLP, the Awards of Excellence include two residential projects in Toronto, and the offices of Entro, a brand communications and graphics firm.

“ARIDO congratulates all award winners,” said Grossmann. “Their talent and commitment to design excellence strengthen ARIDO’s position as the guardian of the highest standards for interior design in Ontario.”

Project of the Year was awarded to Sharon Martens of MartensGroup licensed interior design studio ltd. for the offices of Burnet, Duckworth and Palmer, LLP.

The three Awards of Excellence were given to Alex Chapman of UNION31 for ONE55 Cumberland, Michel Arcand and Don Parker of IN8 Design Inc. for Empty Nesters Condo Renovation, and Michel Arcand and Don Parker of IN8 Design Inc. again for Entro.

Fifteen Awards of Merit recognized the following projects: Commonwealth Community Recreation Centre by Chen Cohen of MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects in joint venture with HIP Architects; De Lage Landen Financial Services Canada Inc. by Erika J. McCarthy and Kathleen van Brussel of Comley van Brussel Design + Management; Esker Foundation by Lois Wellwood of Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd.; Graduate Student Association (GSA) – Phoenix Restaurant/Pub at McMaster University by Dora Lomax of MSI, a division of McCallum Sather Architects Inc.; Hicks Morley by Peter Heys of IBI Group; La Maison Simons WEM by Christopher Wright and Andrew Gallici of figure3; Mediabrands by Christopher Wright and Krista Aquilina of figure3; Mill Street Beerhall by Ronald Wong of Mackay Wong Strategic Design; Shangri-La by Heidi Painchaud and Guy Painchaud of B+H CHIL Design; Tech Company by Annie Bergeron of HOK; WPP by Deborah Sperry and Clarissa Lam of HOK; Quadrangle Architects’ Studio by Caroline Robbie and Vera Gisarov of Quadrangle Architects; Quadrangle Architects’ Studio, Specialty Elements by Caroline Robbie and Vera Gisarov of Quadrangle Architects; The Tridel Store by Kelly Cray of UNION31; and 101 Erskine by Kelly Cray of UNION31.

For more information, please visit