Winners of 2011 Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards announced

Fifteen new buildings in Ottawa, Toronto, Hamilton, Orillia, Montréal, Kitchener, Vancouver, and Ithaca (New York) have been recognized as leading examples of architecture by receiving Design Excellence Awards. There were 150 submissions and the jury unanimously agreed on the consistent high level of quality in the 2011 winning projects.

This year was the first time in the OAA Awards’ history that the Honours and Awards Task Group extended the entry criteria to include buildings located outside the province of Ontario, designed by Ontario architects. The 2011 entries reflected a number of important aspects in architectural design and practice: an increased effort to address sustainability criteria, innovation when working on extremely tight budgets, and an increasingly collaborative approach in working with clients.

Design Excellence recipients include the following:

* Adamson Associates Architects for 25 York Street I Telus Tower in Toronto
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. in association with Shoalts & Zaback Architects Ltd. & E.R.A. Architects Inc. for the Bloor/Gladstone Branch Library in Toronto
* Padolsky, Kuwabara, Gagnon Joint Ventures Architects (PKG): Barry Padolsky Associates Inc. Architects, Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects Gagnon, Letellier, Cyr, Ricard, Mathieu Architectes for the Canadian Museum of Nature in Ottawa
* Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc. for the Cornell Plantations Welcome Center in Ithaca, New York
* ARK Architects + Research + Knowledge Inc. for the Department of Psychosocial Oncology & Palliative Care, Al Hertz Centre for Supportive and Palliative Care, Harold and Shirley Lederman Palliative Care Centre in Toronto
* Colizza Bruni Architecture Inc. for Front to Back Infill in Ottawa
* Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. in association with david premi Architects inc. for Hamilton Farmers’ Market and Central Public Library in Hamilton
* Gow Hastings Architects Inc. for the Humber College Centre for Justice Leadership in Toronto
* Moriyama & Teshima Architects for Lakehead University, New Academic Building in Orillia, Ontario
* Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc. for LightSpace 2 in Toronto
* Diamond and Schmitt Architects for the Salvation Army Harbour Light in Toronto
* Saucier + Perrotte architects for Scandinave Les Bains Vieux-Montréal in Montreal
* Hariri Pontarini Architects with Young + Wright Architects for the University of Waterloo School of Pharmacy in Kitchener, Ontario
* Hariri Pontarini Architects for the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics Ontario Pavilion (Ontario House) in Vancouver
*Moriyama & Teshima Architects in association with the Walter Fedy Partnership for the Waterloo Region Museum in Kitchener, Ontario

The New Lifetime Design Achievement Award was given to Eberhard H. Zeidler, Ranjit Dhar won the Order of da Vinci, and David R. Murphy was recognized with the G. Randy Roberts Service Award.

In the Image subcategory of the Concepts & Presentations category, Reza Aliabadi [rzlbd] won an Award for Transimage; and an Honourable Mention was given to intern architect Michelle Van Eyk for Studio 124-125, 48 Abell Street (After Eviction).

In the Artifact subcategory of the Concepts & Presentations category, intern architect Chan Yiu-Bun won an Award for Echo, and Dubbeldam Design Architects received an Honourable Mention for pull.push.slide.pivot.lift.tilt.turn.

In the Proposals/Concepts subcategory of the Concepts & Presentations category, Embedded Boundaries by student Liana Bresler won an Award, while Brook McIlroy’s IOD Thunder Bay received an Honourable Mention.

The 2011 awards will be presented in Toronto on Friday, May 20, at the OAA Celebration of Excellence, hosted by OAA President Sheena Sharp and Master of Ceremonies Wendy Mesley, as part of the OAA Conference that runs from May 18-21, 2011.

For more information, please visit!opendocument.