Winners announced for Prix d’excellence en architecture

The winners of the Prix d'excellence en architecture have been announced.

The Ordre des architectes du Québec (OAQ) has announced the winning projects of its Prix d’excellence en architecture 2024.

Eleven projects were honoured at a gala event hosted by Jean-René Dufort, which was held at Espace St-Denis in Montreal. Four awards were also presented to individuals, firms or organizations who displayed a commitment to inclusive, quality architecture in Quebec.

The Grand Prix d’excellence en architecture was awarded to Phase 3 of the Promenade Samuel-De Champlain, in the Capitale-Nationale region. Designed by Daoust Lestage Lizotte Stecker, this project was carried out on a site both steeped in history and disfigured in recent decades. In the eyes of the jury, it represents architectural and landscaping feat. This new segment of the Promenade has restored access to the St. Lawrence River, and has succeeded in shaping a variety of atmospheres with elegance and subtlety. The designers have demonstrated an exhaustive mastery of the site’s historical heritage, drawing inspiration from the area’s old lumber yards and maritime industry.

The Complexe multisport de Saint-Georges won the People’s Choice Award. This project by ABCP Architecture stood out for its environmental and social aspects. The project’s energy performance exceeds conventional standards and is an eloquent example of this type of building in the region.

The Medal of Merit, the OAQ’s highest distinction for an individual, was awarded to architect Julia Gersovitz, co-founder of the firm EVOQ Architecture. Her career illustrates a dedication to the establishment of a culture of excellence in heritage conservation, both in Quebec and beyond its borders. Her work on buildings such as Maison Alcan, Gare Jean-Talon, the West Block of the Canadian Parliament, and Gare Union Station bear witness to the exceptional mastery of heritage preservation and rehabilitation.

Architecture sans frontières Québec (ASFQ) was awarded the Social Commitment prize for its outstanding work towards community well-being. For over 16 years, the organization and its volunteer members have imagined concrete solutions to the most pressing social challenges, and created spaces that foster equity and inclusion. ASFQ has carried out over 50 interventions here and elsewhere to benefit vulnerable populations, including communities and the homeless.

The Emerging Firm award was given to Épigraphe. Known for its hyper-collaborative approach, this firm promotes the emergence of inspiring, responsible, inclusive, caring and sustainable architecture. The firm’s location in Beloeil, just outside the major urban centers, reflects its strong commitment to balanced development and sensitivity to the specific needs of different communities.

The Ambassador for Quality in Architecture Award went to Kollectif, a fixture on the Quebec architectural scene architectural landscape for the past 18 years. This distinction underscores the team’s commitment to the promotion of architecture, while underscoring the central role it plays in creating and strengthening ties  within the architectural community. The organization’s #QUIESTLARCHITECTE campaign makes a bold contribution to raising the profile of architecture.

The Prix d’excellence en architecture 2024 jury was chaired by architect Gilles Saucier (Saucier+Perrotte). It also included architects Gil Hardy (NÓS), Renée Mailhot (La Shed) and André Potvin, retired professor at Laval University’s School of Architecture. Finally, Angela Konrad of Usine C contributed to the selection process as a public representative.

The following is a list ofthe 2024 winning projects.

Grand Prix d’excellence:

Promenade Samuel-de Champlain – Phase 3 – Daoust Lestage Lizotte Stecker

Promenade Samuel-de Champlain – Phase 3

Design: Daoust Lestage Lizotte Stecker
Client: Commission de la Capitale-Nationale
Location: Quebec City (Capitale-Nationale)
Photos: Adrien Williams, Maxime Brouillet, Stephane Groleau

Prix d’excellence:

Pavillon d’accueil de l’Insectarium de Montréal – Pelletier de Fontenay

Pavillon d’accueil de l’Insectarium de Montréal

Design: Pelletier de Fontenay
Customer: City of Montreal
Location: Montreal (Montreal)
Photos: James Brittain

Station L – Jean-Maxime Labrecque, architect

Station L

Design: Jean-Maxime Labrecque, architect
Customer: Izadpanah Brothers Holding Company inc.
Location: Westmount (Montreal)
Photos: Jean-Maxime Labrecque, Simon Lachapelle

Distillerie du St.Laurent – Atelier Pierre Thibault et ultralocal architectes

Distillerie du St.Laurent

Design: Atelier Pierre Thibault et ultralocal architectes
Customer: Distillerie du St.Laurent
Location: Rimouski (Bas-Saint-Laurent)
Photos: Maxime Brouillet Maxime Brouillet

The Port of Montreal Tower – Provencher_Roy

The Port of Montreal Tower

Design: Provencher_Roy
Customer : Montreal Port Authority
Location: Montreal (Montreal)
Photos: Olivier Blouin, Nanne Springer, James Brittain, Stéphane Brugger

Micro-Cabine – Méandre – Appareil Architecture

Micro-Cabine – Méandre

Design: Appareil Architecture
Customer: Pascale Villeneuve Pascale Villeneuve
Location: La Tuque (Mauricie)
Photos: Félix Michaud Félix Michaud

Cité Angus Phase II – Ædifica

Cité Angus Phase II

Design: Ædifica
Customer: Société de développement Angus
Location: Montreal (Montreal)
Photos: David Boyer David Boyer

ÎLOT ROSEMONT – Lapointe Magne et associés


Design: Lapointe Magne et associés
Client: Office municipal d’habitation de Montréal
Location: Montreal (Montreal)
Photos: David Boyer

École de l’Étincelle (Lab-École) – Agence Spatiale, Appareil Architecture and BGLA architecture

École de l’Étincelle (Lab-École)

Design: Agence Spatiale, Appareil Architecture and BGLA architecture
Customer: Centre de services scolaires des Rives-du-Saguenay
Location: Chicoutimi (Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean)
Photos: Maxime Brouillet

La boîte à lumière – _naturehumaine

La boîte à lumière

Design: _naturehumaine
Customer: Joël Beaulieu
Location: Montreal (Montreal)
Photos: Ronan Mézière

Prix du public:

Complexe multisport de Saint-Georges – ABCP architecture in consortium with Marie-Lise Leclerc architecte + Bilodeau Baril Leeming architects

Complexe multisport de Saint-Georges

Design: ABCP architecture in consortium with Marie-Lise Leclerc architecte + Bilodeau Baril Leeming architects
Client: Centre de services scolaires Beauce-Etchemin and Ville de Saint-Georges
Location: Saint-Georges (Chaudière-Appalaches)
Photos: Stephane Groleau