Winners announced for Alberta Prairie Wood Design Awards

Wood WORKS! Alberta recognized a prestigious group of leading architects, engineers and project teams at its 9th annual Prairie Wood Design Awards gala. Award recipients were presented with a customized wood trophy acknowledging their ability to push the boundaries of wood in construction. The Prairie Wood Design Awards program recognizes projects and organizations that advance the use of wood in construction through design excellence, advocacy, and innovation. 

“The winning projects from our awards program demonstrate Alberta’s increasing commitment to exploring options for wood in construction,” says Rory Koska, Program Director of Wood WORKS! Alberta. “The advancements in wood research and technology are breaking down barriers for our industry and increasing the options for the design community.”

The winners are:

Photo: Ema Peter
Photo: Ema Peter

Commercial Wood Design

Fort McMurray Airport (Fort McMurray, AB)

Architect:  office of mcfarlane biggar architects + designers inc.

Engineer:  Equilibrium Consulting Inc.

Photo: Tom Arban
Photo: Tom Arban

Interior Wood Design Showcase

Meadows Community Recreation Centre & Meadows Branch Library (Edmonton, AB)

Architect:  Group2 Architecture Interior Design Ltd.

Project Architect: Perkins+Will

Engineer:  CH2M

Image courtesy of Western Archrib
Image courtesy of Western Archrib

Institutional Wood Design

Kingsway/Royal Alex LRT Station (Edmonton, AB)     

Architect:  Stantec Architecture Ltd.

Engineer:  Stantec

Photo: Raymond Chow
Photo: Raymond Chow

Recreational Wood Design

Borden Park Pavilion (Edmonton, AB)

Architect:  gh.3 inc.

Engineer:  Chernenko Engineering Ltd.

Photo: Patricia Holdsworth
Photo: Patricia Holdsworth

Residential Wood Design Award

Silver Sage – The Sun Lodge (Regina, SK)

Architect:  Kreate Architecture and Design

Engineer:  Brownlee Beaton Kreke

Photo: Elisa Rubalcava
Photo: Elisa Rubalcava

Wood Advocate Award

Forest Service Shed – Fort McMurray Historical Society (Fort McMurray, AB)

Architect: Macdonald and Lawrence Timber Framing

Engineer:  ISL Engineering and Land Services

Photo: Paul Zizka
Photo: Paul Zizka

Jury’s Choice Award

Bow River Bridge (Banff, AB)

Architect/Engineer/General Contractor/Wood Supplier:  StructureCraft Builders

The winning projects were selected by a jury that included:

  • James Brown, AIBC Architect, MRAIC, MFA, Director, Bing Thom Architects
  • Herbert Enns, B.E.S., M. Arch, MAA, MRAIC, Professor, Department of Architecture, University of Manitoba
  • Stephen Teeple, B.E.S., B.Arch., M.Sc., OAA, AAA, FRAIC, Principal, Teeple Architects