Winners announced at the 39th annual Heritage Toronto Awards

The 39th annual Heritage Toronto Awards winners were recenty announced, and highlight books, short publications, media, architectural work and community heritage volunteer efforts which have made Toronto a better place today while also telling the story of its past. The Chair of the Awards Committee, Tanzeel Merchant, said, “This year’s winners in all five categories are representative of such high-quality work done to showcase Toronto’s past. We’re thrilled with the outcome of this year’s Awards and we’re glad we have this event as a platform to highlight such excellent work to all Torontonians.”

Victoria Lofts by Paul Oberst Architect won an Award of Excellence in the William Greer Architectural Conservation and Craftsmanship Award category, while an Award of Merit recognized Maple Leaf Gardens by Turner Fleischer Architects (retail space), BBB Architects (student athletic centre) and E.R.A. Architects Inc. (heritage architect). Two Honourable Mentions were given to the Dineen Building by George Robb Architects (exterior) and George Popper Architects (interior), and to St. Michael’s Cathedral by +VG (Ventin Group) Architects.

In the Book category, Full Frontal T.O.: Exploring Toronto’s Architectural Vernacular by Patrick Cummins (photographer) and Shawn Micallef (writer) won an Award of Excellence, and Vanguard of the New Age: The Toronto Theosophical Society, 1891-1945 by Gillian McCann won an Award of Merit. College Street, A Study: Part One, Loft Buildings on the South Side 1903-1915 by Steve Russell and Alec Keefer received an Honourable Mention.

The four Community Heritage category winners are: Cabbagetown Preservation Association (Toronto and East York Community Council Area), the Real Canadian Portuguese Historical Museum (Etobicoke York Community Council Area), Friends of the Guild Park and Gardens (Scarborough Community Council Area), and Leaside 100 Committee (North York Community Council Area).

All organizations which are nominated in the Community Heritage category are eligible for the Members’ Choice Award. All current Heritage Toronto Members were invited to vote for this award, and they were asked to decide which organization was worthy of special recognition. This year’s Members’ Choice Award goes to Cabbagetown Preservation Association.

In the Short Publication category, Historicist: The Telegram Sets, the Sun Rises by Jamie Bradburn won an Award of Excellence, and Historicist: The “Manifest Destiny” of North Toronto by David Wencer won an Award of Merit. Two Honourable Mentions were given to Commemorating the Battle of York: The War of 1812 Bicentennial Commemorative Booklet by Robyn Posner with the Market Gallery, and to Historical Walking Tour of North York Centre: Celebrating the 25th Anniversary of North York Central Library, 1987-2012 by Mary Ann Cross, Geoff Kettel and Barbara Myrvold. 

Two Awards of Merit were issued in the Media category: Curse of the Axe, a video documentary by Robin Bicknell/YAP Films Inc.; and TXTilecity, a website/mobile app documentary by the Textile Museum of Canada, Year Zero One and [murmur]. Video documentary Uncle Bob and His Vietnamese Children by Sue Chun received an Honourable Mention.

Heritage Toronto’s Special Achievement Award provides special recognition to individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the preservation and commemoration of Toronto’s heritage. Heritage Toronto is proud to name Rollo Myers as this year’s recipient. Myers has spent the last 30 years as a community builder with heritage as his key tool. From inventing a machine for turning maps into three dimensions to cofounding numerous Toronto heritage organizations, he has been a great connector of people and a persistent advocate for Toronto’s heritage.

For more information, please visit