Winners announced at 5th Annual Wood WORKS! Awards Gala

Wood WORKS! announced the 2005 Wood WORKS! Awards winners on November 25 at their 5th Annual Awards Gala, held in Collingwood, Ontario. More than 300 industry and community leaders, politicians, architects, and engineers gathered to celebrate Ontario’s finest wood-based construction. Roger Barber, Vice President of Bowater and Chair of the Ontario Forestry Industries Association (OFIA) co-hosted the Gala with Jamie Lim, President and CEO of the OFIA.

There were winners in several categories: energy-efficient buildings and cost-effective high-tech buildings were recognized, as were people who are leading wood-based construction into the future through innovation and advocacy. “[The] winners have demonstrated that wood is very adaptable to different types of structures, from small scale to large scale, in traditional and modern styles,” said Lim. “They have used wood in new ways, by bringing together new wood technology with innovation and creativity.”

Winners also included those who used wood from sustainable sources. “Wood is the only sustainable building material,” said Marianne Brub, Executive Director of Wood WORKS! “The winners have not only created magnificent structures, but they have also helped to create a sustainable wood culture that ensures healthy forests and steady jobs for future generations.”

The 2005 Wood WORKS! Awards Winners are as follows:

The Heritage Award was given to the University of Waterloo School of Architecture in Cambridge Ontario, designed by Levitt Goodman Architects Ltd. This project is a transformation of the former Riverside Silk Mill which carefully integrates distinct architectonic elements while preserving and celebrating the building’s unique character and heritage.

The Green by Design Award was given to E’Terra in Tobermory, Ontario, designed by Grant Diemert Architects. This environmentally sensitive design uses wood as the main medium, which was selected for its sustainable properties.

The Wood Design – Residential Award was given to Heathdale House in Toronto, Ontario, designed by Teeple Architects Inc. This home pushes the envelope of residential design, using wooden, tubular volumes that frame views of the ravine, complete with warm, wood finishes.

The Wood Design – Multi-Unit Award was given to Peel Youth Village in Mississauga, Ontario, designed by Brock James, Levitt Goodman Architects Ltd. This 4-storey community centre project uses wood to create an aesthetically warm and curative environment for young people in need.

The Wood Design Commercial Award was given to the Woodsource in Ottawa, Ontario, designed by Douglas Dawson, Douglas A. Dawson & Associates. This retail building demonstrates the wood products it houses. It is constructed of reclaimed and recycled wood, with tree-like columns supporting the roof canopy, structural wood beams, decking and exterior wood cladding.

The Wood Design – Small Institutional Award was given to the Haliburton School of the Arts, Fleming College in Haliburton, Ontario, designed by Diamond and Schmitt Architects Inc. This building was created with wood from locally sourced, FSC-certified Hemlock designed to inspire students through its tactile and aesthetic properties and expressive manner.

The Wood Design – Large Institutional Award was given to the Credit Valley Hospital Ambulatory Care Centre and Carlo Fidani Peel Regional Cancer Centre in Mississauga, Ontario, designed by Farrow Partnership Architects. An emotive building designed to personalize and humanize the health-care environment, it also contains innovative fire suppression technologies.

The Jury’s Choice Award was given to two projects. The Timmins Library and Coalition Centre of Excellence in Timmins, Ontario, designed by ANO Architects is a building that brings together the many qualities of wood, such as durability, warmth, sound control, cost effectiveness and environmental benefits. The Deer Lake New K-12 School in the Deer Lake First Nation, Ontario, designed by Smith Carter Architects and Engineers Inc., is a building that represents the cultural ideals of the community and contributes to a warm, calming, less institutional school environment.

The Building the Future – Community Leader Award was given to Chief Arthur Moore of the Constance Lake First Nation, Ontario. Moore is a person who asserts aboriginal traditional rights and recognizes the long cultural heritage and role of local forestry in sustaining their community.

The Building the Future Engineer Award was given to David Bowick of Blackwell Bowick Partnership Ltd. of Toronto, Ontario. Bowick is a person who consistently demonstrates innovative wood applications, making designers’ dreams a reality.

The Building the Future Architect Award was given to Teeple Architects Inc. of Toronto, Ontario. The firm represents a group of people who have contributed to a vibrant wood culture in Ontario through dozens of contemporary designs that emphasize the practicality and sustainability of wood.

The Building the Future – Wood Champion Award was given to Tye S. Farrow of the Farrow Partnership Architects of Toronto, Ontario. Farrow is an individual whose designs draw from the essence of innovation and creativity to meet the challenges of each project. Farrow’s use of wood in large structures balances economic, environmental, heritage and social qualities. He has made possible two large, landmark projects in Ontario – the Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre and the award-winning Credit Valley Hospital Ambulatory Care Centre and Carlo Fidani Peel Regional Cancer Centre in Mississauga, which will go on to receive many more awards and give Ontario international acclaim for using breakthrough technology in wood applications.