Two Quebec libraries distinguished by awards

The Congrès des milieux documentaires du Québec (CMD) is proud to announce the winners of its 2013 architecture awards for libraries and archives centres located in Quebec. The jury was unanimous in choosing this year’s winners. The winning project was the Bibliothèque Laure-Conan de la Ville de La Malbaie by Consortium Bisson/ACDF*/Desgagnés, architectes (SENC), and an honorary mention was given to the Bibliothèque Memphrémagog de la Ville de Magog by ESPACE VITAL architecture

In the past decade, Quebec has been greatly distinguished by the architectural quality of its institutional buildings. It is in this context that the Congrès des milieux documentaires du Québec prize was created and awarded for the first time in 2011. The biennial prize aims to give visibility and contributes to the recognition of the best architectural achievements in contemporary Quebec libraries and archive centres.

The 2013 jury comprised two representatives from the architecture community—Phillippe Lupien and Jacques Plante—and five members from the library community—Marc Beaudoin, Patricia Lemieux, Diane Polnicky and Claudette Poulin, as well as jury president Yvon -André Lacroix.