Twelve teams long-listed for the Parliamentary Precinct Block 2 International Design Competition

The star-studded list of competitors includes Foster & Partners, Bjarke Ingels Group, Herzog & de Meuron, Grimshaw, and David Chipperfield.

Aerial view of Parliament Hill with Block 2 and surrounding city fabric

Twelve teams have been long-listed for Public Services and Procurement Canada’s (PSPC) Parliamentary Precinct Block 2 International Design Competition. This project aims to preserve the Parliamentary Precinct for all Canadians, ensure it meets the needs of a 21st-century Parliament, and make it greener, safer, and more accessible.

In partnership with the RAIC, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) officially launched an architectural design competition to redevelop Block 2,  which faces Parliament Hill to the north and is the threshold to city life to the south.

On May 21, 2021, PSPC invited the 12 firms that will participate in the architectural design competition for Block 2. These teams had the highest evaluated scores out of the applications received following the Request for Qualification (RFQ). All teams include at least one Canadian firm.

The following teams were selected to participate in the architectural design competition for Block 2:

  • Architecture49 Inc. in joint venture with Foster+Partners and in association with DFS Inc. Architecture & Design
  • BDP Quadrangle in joint venture with Herzog & de Meuron
  • Diamond Schmitt Architects in joint venture with Bjarke Ingels Group, KWC Architects and ERA Architects
  • Grimshaw Architects in association with Daoust Lestage Lizotte Stecker
  • Hassell in association with Partisans
  • Hopkins Architects in association with CORE Architects Inc.
  • KPMB Architects
  • NEUF Architects in joint venture with Renzo Piano Building Workshop
  • Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes Inc.
  • Watson MacEwen Teramura Architects in joint venture with Behnisch Architekten
  • Wilkinson Eyre in association with IDEA Inc.
  • Zeidler Architecture Inc. in association with David Chipperfield Architects

In collaboration with PSPC, a multidisciplinary independent jury will provide insight to evaluate the range of design concepts submitted and will select the six best designs to advance to Stage 2 of the competition. Architects, Bruce Haden and Anne McIlroy, will serve as Chairperson and Vice-chair for the design competition jury.