Toronto Urban Design Awards Announced

City of Toronto Names 11 Awards of Excellence winners.

Zeidler Architecture in association with WilkinsonEyre’s CF Eaton Centre Bridge is the winner of a 2021 Toronto Urban Design Award of Excellence

The City of Toronto has named the winners of the 2021 Toronto Urban Design Awards winners.

From a total of 170 submissions in nine categories, the jury selected 11 Awards of Excellence, 13 Awards of Merit, and two Special Jury Awards for inspiring infrastructure.

The CF Toronto Eaton Centre Bridge by WilkinsonEyre and Zeidler Architecture won an Award of Excellence in the Elements category.

In the Private Buildings in Context category, the Montcrest School Redevelopment by Montgomery Sisam Architects received an Award of Excellence in the Low-Scale category; 80 Atlantic Avenue by BDP Quadrangle in Mid-Rise, and Axis Condos by IBI Group in Tall.

In the Public Buildings in Context category, Seneca College Centre of Innovation Technology and Entrepreneurship by Perkins & Will received an Award of Excellence.

In the Small Open Spaces category, Awards of Excellence went to two winners: SQ2 Condos & POPS by  Teeple Architects and Kirkor Architects with Janet Rosenberg & Studio, and University of Toronto Scarborough Valley Land Accessible Trail by Schollen & Company.

Centennial College Downsview Campus for Aerospace and Aviation by Stantec took the Award of Excellence in the Large Places and/or Neighbourhood Designs category.

The Visions and Master Plans category honoured two projects: the  Bloor/Kipling & Islington Developments by Henning Larsen Architects with local firms Adamson Associates Architects and PLANT Architect; and the Meadoway Gatineau Hydro Corridor by Perkins & Will.

Among Student Projects, the Power and Place project at Princess Margaret Hospital took top honours.

Two Special Jury Awards for Inspiring Infrastructure honoured the Storm Water Facility at 480 Lake Shore Boulevard East (gh3*), and the Emergency Exit Buildings at the Toronto York Spadina Subway Extension (IBI Group).

Awards of Merit went to Thermally Speaking (LeuWebb Projects), Proper TV (superkül), West Block Est. 1928 (architectsAlliance with heritage consultant ERA), Kingston & Co Condos (Teeple Architects), The Massey Tower (Hariri Pontarini Architects with heritage consultant ERA), Ryerson University – Daphne Cockwell Health Sciences Complex (Perkins&Will), Canoe Landing Community Campus (ZAS Architects), Guildwood Station (RDHA), St. James Park-Park Improvements (including pavilions by RAW Architects), Garrison Crossing (Fort York Pedestrian and Cycle Bridges) (DTAH), and Yonge Sheppard Centre (BDP Quadrangle). Student Awards of Merit went to xs spaces: a new laneway urbanism for Toronto (Declan Roberts) and Embodied Energy: Living Lab (Madison Appleby and Agata Mrowzowski)

The 2021 jury members included chair Michael Leckman, Fadi Masoud, Eladia Smoke, and Jackie VanderVelde.