Three more winners revealed at the Ontario Association of Architects Awards Gala

The annual Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Celebration of Excellence Awards on Friday, May 10, 2013 showcased the best in architectural design and innovation by Ontario architects. Fifteen new buildings in Toronto, Montreal, Los Angeles, Tel Aviv, Waterloo, Sequin Township and Vancouver were distinguished in this year’s Design Excellence category. Entry criteria were expanded to include projects designed by Ontario architects located outside the province. 

“Opening the awards to national and international projects reflects the global impact Ontario architects are making,” says OAA President, Bill Birdsell.

In addition to the 15 Design Excellence awards announced before the ceremony, three more honours were unveiled during the gala:

Best of Show was awarded to University of British Columbia Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes & Hughes Condon Marler Architects.

The Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award honouring architectural excellence for projects in Ontario that cost no more than 8 million dollars was presented to Drew Mandel Architects for the Cedarvale Ravine House.

And the People’s Choice Award, decided by public vote, went to Taylor Smyth Architects for the House on the Bluffs.

“Architects are increasingly creating spaces that invite the general public to interact and engage. The 2013 award winners exemplify architecture that goes beyond the expected in both design and function. This year’s winning projects set the stage for what communities around the world are aspiring to achieve – open, bright, relevant and inclusive spaces, where people want to be,” says Birdsell.

“As a Canadian architect you have the chance to work in all kinds of inspiring landscapes,” says Gilles Saucier of Saucier + Perrotte, who took home Best of Show for the design of the University of British Columbia’s Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD. “The design builds upon the campus’s natural landscape and provides light-filled liveable spaces for world-class pharmaceutical research and learning. At the same time, an open and transparent ground floor invites the public in to showcase the important functions of the program.” The building was also designed to meet LEED Gold standards and takes into consideration the future needs of the Pharmaceutical program.

The 2013 OAA awards were presented at the OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre in Toronto, Ontario on Friday, May 10, 2013. The gala was attended by the province’s top architects, building industry guests, clients of the winning projects and those with a passion for architecture. etalk’s Ben Mulroney was the MC for the evening, hosted by OAA President, Bill Birdsell.

For a list of all previously announced winners of the 2013 OAA Awards of Excellence, please visit