Three Canadian architects named Honorary Fellows of the American Institute of Architects

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) recently announced three Canadians amongst 13 international architects named Honorary Fellows of the Institute. Honorary Fellowship is bestowed upon architects of esteemed character and distinguished achievements who are neither citizens nor residents of the US and who do not primarily practice architecture within the domain of the AIA.

Election to Honorary Fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of the foreign architect as an individual, but also elevates before the international public and the profession a model architect who has made a significant contribution to architecture and society on an international level. The 2008 AIA Honorary Fellows from Canada are: Brigitte Shim and Howard Sutcliffe of Shim+Sutcliffe Architects Inc. in Toronto and Ranjit (Randy) Dhar, Public Works & Government Services in Toronto. Shim and Sutcliffe are being honoured for their outstanding creative talents whose body of built work has integrated architecture, landscape, and design. They have created public works, parks, residences as well as fixtures and furnishes that have pushed forward new standards of excellence in the design of their projects across Canada and the United States. Dhar is being honoured for his career-long dedication to leading professional associations, improving project delivery, and promoting coordination within the building industry, all of which define his contributions to the profession.

The remaining 10 inductees include: David Adjaye (Adjaye Associates Ltd., London); Stefan Behnisch (Behnisch Architekten, Stuttgart); Javier Sanchez Corral (Higuera + Sanchez, Mexico City); Gabriel Fagan (Gabriel Fagan Architects, Capetown, South Africa); Jan Gehl (The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen, Denmark); Bernardo Gomez-Pimienta (BGP Arquitectura, Mexico City); Jin Kyoon Kim (Seoul National University in Seoul, Korea); Benjamin Mouton (Architecte en Chefs des Monuments Historiques, Versailles, France); Choon-Soo Ryu (Beyond Space-Group, Seoul, Korea); and Nithi Sthapitanonda (Architects 49 Limited, Bangkok, Thailand).