The Warming Huts, Winnipeg receives 2022 RAIC International Prize

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) has announced that the 2022 RAIC International Prize will be awarded to The Warming Huts, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The architecture firm behind the project is Sputnik Architecture Inc, Winnipeg, leader of a consulting team that includes Engineers Crosier, Kilgour & Partners, Specialist Consultant Luca Roncoroni, the Forks Renewal Corporation, and a host of other collaborators.


Conceived, coordinated and often constructed by members of Sputnik Architecture, the Warming Huts are episodic and transformative, linking parts of a city divided by waterways, creating spaces of encounter and exchange, and reconnecting citizens to healthy lifestyles and the history of place.

The Warming Huts are the product of a recurring exercise in design and construction that takes place on the frozen rivers of Winnipeg every winter. They have been created over more than a decade with the support of hundreds of collaborators, both local and international.

The collaborators over the years have included the following:

2010: artist Jon Pylypchuk (Winnipeg); 5468796 Architecture with Ewa Tarsia (Winnipeg); 701 Architects with Merri-Lou Paterson (Winnipeg); Antoine Predock Architect (Albequerque, NM) with Scatliff + Miller + Murray (Winnipeg); Richard Kroeker with Neil Forrest (Halifax).

2011: Patkau Architects (Vancouver); Team Ha(y)ven (Transnational); Talmon Biran Architecture Studio (Israel).

2012: Frank Gehry Architecture (LA); Mjölk (Czech Republic); Kevin Erickson with Allison Warren (Illinois & New York).

2013: Atelier Big City (Montréal); Public City (formely Plain Projects) with URBANINK and Pike Projects (Winnipeg); Aamodt/Plumb Architects with Rebecca Howdeshell (Cambridge, MA); Woolhaus Team (New York).

2014: Étienne Gaboury (Winnipeg); RAW with Kim Flynn (Toronto); Bella Totino with Kate Busby (Vancouver); Workshop Architecture Inc. (Toronto).

2015: Rojkind Arquitectos (Mexico DF, Mexico); Weiss Architecture & Urbanism Ltd. with Punchclock Metalworks (Toronto); KANVA (Montréal).

2016: Tanya Tagaq (Cambridge Bay/Iqaluktuuttiaq, Nunavut); Kirill Bair and Daria Lisitsyna (Russian Federation); Andreas Mede (Woodside, CA).

2017: Anish Kapoor (London, UK); Atelier ARI (Rotterdam, Netherlands); houdinidesign ARCHITECTS with Drew Klassen (Nova Scotia); Team 888 (Chicago).

2018: Guy Maddin (Winnipeg); b210 (Tallin, Estonia); Camille Bianchi with Ryder Thalheimer (Vancouver); David Alberto Arroyo Tafolla (Morelia, Mexico).

2019: Terje Isungset (Norway); NAICE architecture and design (Berlin); JAEMEE Studio (Jersey City, NJ); Jennie O’Keefe with Chris Pancoe (Winnipeg).

2020: Royal Canoe (Winnipeg) with Luca Roncoroni (Norway); Michael Maltzan Architects (LA); Ashida Architect & Associates (Tokyo); Onomiau (Paris & Strasbourg); Modern Office of Design and Architecture with MTHARU/Mercedes + Singh (Calgary); Mistecture Architecture & Interiors with Manitoba Building Trades and Ironworkers Union Local 728 (Winnipeg).

2021: Thomas Cheney Architects (Seattle); AtLRG Architecture (Winnipeg); Karina Leong (Malaysia) with Jeremy Chan (Hong Kong).

And over multiple years: Robert B. Trempe Jr. (Lincoln, NE); Tina Soli with Luca Roncoroni (Norway); The University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture (Winnipeg); Mennonite Bretheren Collegiate (Winnipeg); Tec Voc High School (Winnipeg); Nelson McIntyre Collegiate (Winnipeg); Grey & Ivy (Winnipeg).


A sculpture created for the International Prize by Canadian designer Wei Yew will be presented to the winners in the RAIC Celebration of Excellence, an awards ceremony and gala that will take place in May 2023 during the RAIC Conference on Architecture in Calgary, AB. 

Consulting Team
Architects: Sputnik Architecture Inc.
Engineers: Crosier, Kilgour & Partners
Specialist Consultants: Luca Roncoroni
Builders: The Forks Renewal Corporation, Sputnik Architecture Inc.