The OAA celebrates two new Honorary Members

Canadian Architect editor Elsa Lam is one of two new Honorary Members of the OAA.

At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held as part of Conference, OAA members voted to include two individuals as Honorary Members.

An Honorary Member is a person who has given valuable and distinguished service to the architectural profession or has scrupulously upheld the objects of the Association. Honorary Members are elected by the membership at the OAA Annual General Meeting.

After nominations by Council, this designation is bestowed on those who have bestowed on those or who have scrupulously upheld the OAA’s objects.

Canadian Architect editor Elsa Lam

The membership elected author and Canadian Architect editor Elsa Lam for Honourary Membership, based on her advocacy and elevating education of the public with respect to architecture.

The membership also selected Her Honour the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, in acknowledgement of her support of the architecture profession, including her direct involvement with the OAA Design Excellence Awards over the years.