The 2007 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners announced

Canadian Architect announces the winners of the 2007 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Rene Daoust of Daoust Lestage architecture et design urbain in Montreal, Jonathan Kearns of Kearns Mancini Architects in Toronto, and Mark Ostry of Acton Ostry Architects in Vancouver.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.

Ten Awards of Excellence were given to the following:

Patkau Architects of Vancouver for the Peterson/Munck House on Quadra Island, British Columbia
Saucier + Perrotte Architectes of Montreal and Marc Boutin Architect of Calgary for the National Mountain Centre in Canmore, Alberta
Marc Boutin Architect of Calgary for the Calgary Centre for Global Community in Calgary, Alberta
Nelson Kwong Architect of Toronto for 63_B in Toronto, Ontario
PLANT Architect, Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners, Peter Lindsay Schaudt Landscape Architecture and Adrian Blackwell Urban Projects of Toronto for the Nathan Phillips Square Revitalization Project in Toronto, Ontario
Teeple Architects of Toronto for 60 Richmond Street East Housing Co-operative in Toronto, Ontario
architectsAlliance of Toronto for 31A Parliament Street, Distillery District in Toronto, Ontario
Menks Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux Architectes for Louis Bohme: De Bleury/De Maisonneuve in Montreal, Quebec
Marosi + Troy, Jodoin Lamarre Pratte, Labb: Architects in Joint Venture of Montreal for University of Sherbrooke Longueuil Campus in Longueuil, Quebec
Blanger, Beauchemin, Morency Architectes & Anne Vallires Architecte and Gianpiero Moretti of Quebec City for lot des Palais in Quebec City, Quebec

And finally, three students were selected as award winners for their respective graduating thesis projects. They are:

Ron Choe of the University of Calgary for Architecture in Progress: A Catalyst for Experience
Erin Hunt of Dalhousie University for Mediating Strata: Connecting Landscape, Building & Artifact
Hubert Pelletier of the Universit de Montral for Variations Stockholm

Exclusive coverage will be granted to award winners in the December 2007 issue of Canadian Architect, and each winning architect and respective client will receive a framed certificate. Student winners will receive a framed certificate in addition to a cash award of $500.

Canadian Architect wishes to thank all firms and students who participated in this year’s awards. It is the enthusiastic involvement of everyone that makes each year a great success.

Media contact:

Leslie Jen, Associate Editor
Tel: 416.510.6845
Fax: 416.510.5140