The 2005 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners announced

Canadian Architect announces the winners of the 2005 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Claude Provencher of Provencher Roy + Associs architectes in Montreal, Michael Taylor of Taylor Smyth Architects in Toronto, and architecturally trained consultant and National Post architecture and design critic Robert Ouellette of Toronto.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.

Ten Awards of Excellence were given to the following winners:

Baird Sampson Neuert Architects of Toronto for the French River Provincial Park Visitor Centre in Killarney, Ontario
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects of Toronto for the Thomas L. Wells Public School in Scarborough, Ontario
Busby Perkins + Will Architects of Vancouver for the Dockside Lands project in Victoria, BC
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects of Toronto for the Royal Conservatory of Music Telus Centre for Performance and Learning in Toronto, Ontario
Ian MacDonald Architect Inc. of Toronto for the House in Grey Highlands in Grey Highlands, Ontario
Patkau Architects of Vancouver with LM Architectural Group of Winnipeg for the Centre for Music, Art and Design, University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, Manitoba
Patkau Architects of Vancouver for the Little House in West Vancouver, BC
Teeple Architects of Toronto with Hancock Brckner Eng + Wright Architects of Vancouver for the Langara College Library and Classroom Building in Vancouver, BC
Pierre Thibault architecte of Sillery, Quebec for the Cistercian Abbey in Saint-Jean-de-Matha, Quebec
Velikov + Thn Building Studio for the S.W.A.M.P. House in Sauble Beach, Ontario

Two Awards of Merit were given to the following firms:

Cohlmeyer Architects of Winnipeg for the Webbsite Infill Condominium Project in Winnipeg, Manitoba
Diamond and Schmitt Architects of Toronto for the Los Alamos Civic Center in Los Alamos, New Mexico

And finally, three students were selected as award winners for their respective graduating thesis projects. They are:

Martin Ct of Universit Laval for NOS: Nightclub Xperimental
Kinan Khatib of McGill University for Dubai Desert Retreat
Jason Michael Kun of the University of Manitoba for AMP

Exclusive coverage will be granted to award winners in the December 2005 issue of Canadian Architect, and each winning architect and respective client will receive a framed certificate. Student winners will receive a framed certificate in addition to a cash award of $500.

Canadian Architect wishes to thank all firms and students who participated in this year’s awards. It is the enthusiastic involvement of everyone that makes each year a great success.

Media contacts:

Ian Chodikoff, Editor
Tel: 416.510.6807

Leslie Jen, Assistant Editor
Tel: 416.510.6845

Fax: 416.510.5140