The 2004 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners announced

Canadian Architect announces the winners of the 2004 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national architecture award programs, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Tom Monteyne of Syverson Monteyne Architecture in Winnipeg, John Shnier of Kohn Shnier Architects in Toronto, and Adam Yarinsky of Architecture Research Office in New York. All three jurors are actively involved in both teaching and practice. Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.

The winners are as follows:

Acton Ostry Architects of Vancouver for the Vancouver Chinese Evangelical Free Church in Vancouver, BC
BattersbyHowat of Vancouver for the North Bend Residence in North Bend, Washington
Marc Boutin Architect of Calgary for the New Varscona Theatre in Edmonton, Alberta
Croft Pelletier architectes of Quebec City for the Charlesbourg Library in Quebec City
Hariri Pontarini Architects of Toronto for the Bah’ Temple for South America in Santiago, Chile
Kongats Architects of Toronto for the Hespeler Library in Cambridge, Ontario
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects of Toronto for the Vaughan Civic Centre in Vaughan, Ontario
Patkau Architects of Vancouver for the New College Student Residence at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Patkau Architects of Vancouver with LM Architectural Group of Winnipeg for the Winnipeg Centennial Library in Winnipeg, Manitoba
Saucier + Perrotte architectes of Montreal for the Lac Suprieur Residence in Lac Suprieur, Mont-Tremblant, Quebec

Two students were selected as award winners for their respective graduating thesis projects. They are:

Jamey Richards of the University of Toronto for Field Station for Entomological Studies
Vered Aviram-Gindi of the University of Toronto for The (no-) Wall: Hostile space vs. Neutral place

Exclusive coverage will be granted to award winners in the December issue of Canadian Architect, and each winning architect and respective client will receive a framed certificate. Student winners will receive a framed certificate in addition to a cash award of $500.

Canadian Architect wishes to thank all firms and students who participated in this year’s awards. It is the enthusiastic involvement of everyone that makes each year a great success.

Media contacts:

Ian Chodikoff, Editor
Tel: 416.510.6807

Leslie Jen, Assistant Editor
Tel: 416.510.6845

Fax: 416.510.5140