Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Teknion wins industrial energy innovators award for corporate stewardship

Teknion Corporation has received an Industrial Energy Innovators Award from CIPEC the Canadian Industry Program for Energy Conservation. CIPEC is a partnership between the Government of Canada and industry, and is supported by Natural Resources Canada. Teknion won in the Corporate Stewardship category.

"Teknion has demonstrated that its energy efficiency initiatives are significant, innovative, and comprehensive by successfully decreasing its energy intensity at 17 facilities across Canada," says Michael Burke, Director, Industrial Programs Division, Office of Energy Efficiency, Natural Resources Canada. "Teknion should be very proud of its environmental program results, and continue its leadership role in both Canadian industry and the contract furniture market."

"It’s a great honour for Teknion to be recognized by the Government of Canada with this very significant Industrial Energy Innovators Award," says Scott Deugo, Teknion’s Vice President of Sustainable Development. "Reduced energy consumption and emissions are part of our environmental charter. Through our teams’ determined efforts and our proactive environmental strategy, recognition such as this award supports us in building a more agile, responsive and human-centered company."

Industrial Energy Innovators Awards were given for significant achievements in five categories of projects that contribute to increased industrial energy efficiency, including: process improvement; employee awareness and training; corporate stewardship; monitoring, tracking and reporting; and implementing an integrated energy efficiency strategy. Awards were also presented to Cascades Inc., Dofasco Inc., Dura-Lite Heat Transfers Product Ltd., General Motors of Canada, Maple Leaf Foods Inc., Pratt and Whitney Canada and Unilever Canada.

Energy efficiency initiatives must have occurred at a facility in Canada in the 2004 calendar year to be eligible. Teknion was presented its award at the CIPEC 30th Anniversary and Awards Dinner on May 24 during the Energy 2005 conference in Ottawa.