Submissions open for Martin Eli Weil Prize and Phyllis Lambert Prize

The Society for the Study of Architecture in Canada (SSAC) is accepting submissions for the Phyllis Lambert Prize, and the the Martin Eli Weil Prize.

The Martin Eli Weil Prize is awarded annually to a student who submits an essay on the role played by the built environment in Canadian society. The $250 prize and certificate will be awarded to the winner at the Annual Assembly of the Society, where the recipient will be invited to present a conference on their essay. The recipient’s travel and registration fees for the conference are covered as part of the prize. The winning essay will also be published by the Society.

All part-time and full-time students registered in a program leading to a university degree in a Canadian university are eligible; submissions from students registered in a foreign university, but dealing with a Canadian subject, are also invited.

The essay, in French or English, may deal with a specific building, contemporary or historic, whether existing or at a proposal stage; a complex of attached buildings; a specific building type (examined for its historical, functional, structural, or aesthetic importance); cultural landscape (parks, cemeteries, farms, etc.); the life of a person who has influenced the built environment; or a philosophical, sociological, or historical issue related to the built environment.

The deadline for entering is February 28, 2021.

The Phyllis Lambert Prize is a biennial award presented to a PhD candidate or recent graduate with the best doctoral dissertation on the subject of the built environment in Canada.

The Prize consists of a certificate of recognition and a $1,500 scholarship and will be awarded during a special ceremony included in the program of the Society’s annual conference. The recipient will be invited to present a public lecture related to the subject of the dissertation at the conference; travel and accommodations costs will be covered by the Society, up to $1,500.

The prize honors Phyllis Lambert, architect and tutelary figure of architectural history and conservation, and founder of the Canadian Centre for Architecture, an internationally renowned institution with the goal of increasing public awareness and scholarly research of the role played by architecture in contemporary society.

Manuscripts and letters of support must be sent by January 30, 2021 to the following address:

Société pour l’étude de l’architecture au Canada / Society for the Study of Architecture in Canada
Prix Phyllis-Lambert / Phyllis Lambert Prize
Dr. Luc Noppen
SÉAC Vice-Président (Prix) / SSAC Vice-President of Awards
CRC en patrimoine urbain
Universite du Quebec a Montreal
C.P. 8888, succ. Centre-ville
Montreal, QC
H3C 3P8