Submissions accepted for biannual Prairie Design Awards

Prairie Design AwardsEvery two years, The Alberta Association of Architects, The Saskatchewan Association of Architects and The Manitoba Association of Architects celebrate those setting new standards of creativity and skill in architecture and interior design. The tri-provincial collaboration has been recognizing design excellence since its inauguration in 2000, and will return for its 2018 awards at May’s Banff Session conference.

Two types of awards may be awarded: Award of Excellence and Award of Merit. In past years, Awards of Excellence and Awards of Merit have been conveyed to projects and practices across the prairies in the categories of Recent Work, Interior Design, and Heritage Restoration. In 2018, the categories will be Recent Work, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture and Small Projects.

Projects must be located in Alberta, Saskatchewan or Manitoba to be eligible. Unbuilt work will not be adjudicated. (Unbuilt work denotes work that is of a theoretical or conceptual nature that is not built or work for a client that has not yet reached the final stages of construction).

Prairie Design Awards
Commonwelath Community Centre in Edmonon, a 2016 Prairie Design Awards Winner by MacLennan Jaunkalns Mller Architects and HIP Architects

The awards reception will be held in conjunction with the Alberta Association of Architects’ 2018 Banff Session conference. The awards will be presented at a reception at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel on Friday, May 11th, 2018. The two-day Banff Session also offers an opportunity for professionals in the practices of architecture and interior design to discuss their work, ideas, beliefs and attitudes in an arena of open dialogue in a unique context unencumbered by the everyday pressures and activities of the workplace. The conference has historically been attended by a full house of approximately 450 architects, interior designers, academics and students from all parts of Canada and the United States.

Submissions (on USB device only) must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on Friday, April 6, 2018. More information is available via the official awards website, linked here. The 2018 Banff Session is also now open for registration.