Submission deadline for the Mayor’s Urban Design Awards in Calgary

These biennial awards acknowledge the important contribution that designers, architects and artists make in improving the quality of life in our city by producing high-quality buildings and public spaces. This year’s awards gala is on October 28, 2009.


The City of Calgary will accept entries for the mayor’s Urban Design Awards in the eight categories listed below. Each category has different requirements for eligibility and different criteria for selection of award. Specifics on details, criteria and eligibility for each category can be viewed online at Categories are as follows:


* Conceptual/Theoretical Urban Design Projects

* Approved or Adopted Urban Design Plans

* Urban Architecture

* Civic Design Projects

* Urban Fragments

* Community Improvement Projects

* Student Projects

* The Mawson Urban Design Award


There are specific requirements for applications that can be found in detail on the website. The entry fee is $100, but this fee is waived for student submissions. The submission form is available online. Please note that providing accurate and complete project credits is the full responsibility of the applicant.


City of Calgary staff must receive submissions no later than 4:00pm on Tuesday, October 13, 2009. Send entries to:

Mayor’s Urban Design Awards

P.O. Box 2100

Station M #8117

Calgary, Alberta

T2P 2M5


For more information, please visit