Submission deadline for inaugural Mayor’s Urban Design Awards (MUDA) in Calgary

The City of Calgary and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) wish to promote a greater awareness of the role urban design plays in our daily lives. For this reason, an Urban Design Awards program has been established to recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to enhancing the quality of life in Calgary. Architecture, landscape architecture and urban design play an integral role in the creation of great cities. Well-designed urban spaces make people feel welcome, support pedestrian activity, improve safety and create a memorable sense of place.

The jury is comprised of: Allen Jacobs, award-winning architect, planner and urban designer; Ken Greenberg, award-winning architect and urban designer whose focus is on the rejuvenation of downtowns, waterfronts, neighbourhoods and campus master planning; and Kathleen Petty, host of CBC News: Your Call and CBC News: Canada Now.

The City will be accepting urban design submissions that contribute to the quality of life in Calgary in seven different categories:

*Conceptual/Theoretical Urban Design Projects
*Approved or Adopted Urban Design Plans
*Urban Architecture
*Civic Design Projects
*Urban Fragments
*Community Improvement Projects
*Student Projects

The deadline for submissions is 4:00pm on Monday, October 3, 2005. Adjudication will take place October 17 and 18, 2005. Immediately following, Mayor Dave Bronconnier will host the inaugural MUDA Gala Reception on October 18, 2005.

The Mayor’s Urban Design Awards are part of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) Urban Design Award Program, a cooperative venture between the RAIC and most major metropolitan centres in Canada. The City of Calgary wishes to acknowledge the invaluable contribution of the Alberta Association Canadian Institute of Planning (AACIP).

For more information, please visit