Stage 1 selection for Canadian Museum for Human Rights.

Thirty architectural firms, spanning 12 countries, have been selected in the first stage of the International Architectural Design Competition for the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, a 240,000 square foot building program to be located in Winnipeg at the confluence of the Red and Assiniboine rivers at the Forks. Out of 500 architectural firms indicating their interest initially, 63 answered a call for expressions of interest. A sub-committee jury for this phase of the competition is made up of Gail Asper, David Covo, Gustavo Da Roza, Robert Fulford, Moe Levy and Raymond Moriyama. Some of the teams on this initial list include: Ct y Terradas, Arquitectos (Spain/Canada); Dan Hanganu and Groupe Arcop; Diamond and Schmitt Architects; Douglas J. Cardinal Architect; Marosi + Troy/Jodoin Lamarre Pratte/Architects; MEDIUM/Tomizo Yamamoto Architect; Saia Barbarese Topouzanov/Ttrault Parent Languedoc Architectes; Saucier + Perrotte architectes; Sturgess Architecture with IBI Group/Stecheson Katz Architects; Zeidler Partnership/Architects (Canada); SOM/NOMADE (USA/Canada); Schmidt Hammer & Lassen (Denmark); Gehry Partners, LLP; Studio Daniel Libeskind (USA); Charles Correa Associates (India); Behnisch, Behnisch & Partners Architekten (Germany); and Zaha Hadid (UK) among others. To be the only human rights museum of its scale in the world, the facility seeks to address Canadian and worldwide issues of tolerance and respect for human rights across many boundaries including ethnicity, race, politics, religion and gender. The founder of the museum, Dr. Israel Asper, sought before his death in October of last year to “express these critically important and fundamental issues and transform them into tan architectural statement of international significance.”
The museum is a joint project of Friends of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights Inc., the Forks North Portage Partnership, the Government of Canada, the Province of Manitoba, and the City of Winnipeg.