RIBA Opens Entries for the 2020 International Awards

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has opened entries for the third edition of the RIBA International Awards, which celebrates buildings that embrace sustainable technologies while delivering a meaningful social impact.

The biennial awards are open to any qualified architect in the world for a building outside of the UK, of any size and type of budget.

This year, multidisciplinary French architect and urban planner, Odile Decq (founder of Studio Odile Decq), is set to lead the grand jury. Decq will also be joined by a diverse panel of international and regional experts.

“The RIBA International Prize has an incredibly important focus – to discover the best architecture for a better life – and I look forward to travelling the world to find a worthy winner,” said Decq.

In addition to the RIBA International Awards, 20 buildings worldwide that stretch the boundaries of architecture and standards of excellence will receive the RIBA International Awards for Excellence.

The awards include:

  • The RIBA International Awards for Excellence
  • The Emerging Architect Prize
  • The RIBA International Prize

The RIBA International Emerging Architect Prize recognizes the talent of individuals who have been practicing for up to 10 years and are making a significant contribution to the field of architecture.

In 2016 Grafton Architects won the RIBA International Prize for their university building, UTEC (Universidad de Ingeniería y Tecnología) in Lima, Peru.

UTEC (Universidad de Ingeniería y Tecnología); Photo Courtesy of RIBA

Aleph Zero and Rosenbaum received the 2018 prize, for their new school complex on the edge of the Amazon rainforest in northern Brazil, Children Village.

Children Village; Photo Courtesy of RIBA

Entries for the 2020 RIBA International Awards close on October 31, 2019. The winner of the RIBA International Prize will be announced in November 2020.

Click here for more information.