Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

RIBA National Awards and Stirling Prize midlist announced

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) National and International Awards for architectural excellence were presented on June 22, 2007. In total, 14 buildings across the UK received RIBA National Awards, which along with five RIBA European Awards, form the midlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize in association with The Architects’ Journal.

The winning projects range from a rooftop nursery in east London, four arts centres including the Royal Shakespeare Company Courtyard Theatre and the Bridge Arts Centre in Glasgow, to a swimming pool in Lancashire and a modernist seaside house in Essex. The architects whose work has been honoured this year span up-and-coming young practices, to the best known in the industry, including WHAT_ architecture!, John McAslan + Partners, and Alsop Architects. All winners are praised for their excellence in design quality and their contribution to the local environment.

The 14 buildings that have won RIBA National Awards and a place on the RIBA Stirling Prize midlist are:

Formby Pool, Lancashire by Feilden Clegg Bradley Architects
Marlowe Academy, Ramsgate by Building Design Partnership
Palestra, London SE1 by Alsop Architects Rooftop Nursery, London E5 by WHAT_ architecture!
RSPB Environment & Education Centre, Rainham Marshes Nature Reserve, Essex by van Heyningen & Haward Architects
Sinclair’s Building, Sheffield by Project Orange
The Bridge Arts Centre, Glasgow by Gareth Hoskins Architects
The Roundhouse, London NW1 by John McAslan + Partners
The Royal Shakespeare Company Courtyard Theatre, Stratford upon Avon by Ian Ritchie Architects
The Salt House, Essex by Alison Brooks Architects
The Savill Building, Windsor, by Glenn Howells Architects
The Singing Ringing Tree, Burnley, Lancashire by Tonkin Liu
Unity Building, Liverpool by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Young Vic Theatre, London SE1 by Haworth Tompkins

The five RIBA European Award winning buildings that have won a place on the RIBA Stirling Prize midlist are:

Casa da Musica, Porto, Portugal by Office for Metropolitan Architecture
Dresden Station Redevelopment, Dresden, Germany by Foster + Partners
Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach am Neckar, Germany by David Chipperfield Architects
Antwerp Law Courts, Belgium by Richard Rogers Partnership
America’s Cup Building, Valencia, Spain by David Chipperfield Architects

The RIBA Stirling Prize in association with The Architects’ Journal is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year. The 20,000 prize will be presented on October 6, 2007 live on Channel 4 from the Roundhouse in London.

Speaking at the awards dinner, RIBA President Jack Pringle said: “The RIBA’s awards are about celebrating beautiful buildings that work for people, whether it’s well designed schools which make it easier for children to learn in, innovative arts centres, excellent housing or improved public spaces – all of which enrich people’s lives. Congratulations to all tonight’s winners.”

Paul Finch, Publishing Director of The Architects’ Journal added: “Like the RIBA, the AJ is dedicated to promoting great architecture, and is delighted to continue its support of the RIBA Awards, culminating in the RIBA Stirling Prize. I have no doubt that this year’s exciting new-look awards program will continue to set ever higher standards for architecture.”

The following eight projects have also won a RIBA European Award but are not on the RIBA Stirling Prize midlist:

“Alsion” Danish University, South Science Park South and Concert Hall, Snderborg, Denmark by 3XN
Cherry Orchard Primary School, Dublin, Ireland by O’Donnell + Tuomey
Environmental Research Institute, Cork, Ireland by Bucholz McEvoy Architects
New Civic Offices for Cork City Council, Ireland by ABK Architects
North Campus Development CIT, Cork, Ireland by de Blacam and Meagher
Sint Lucas Art Academy, Boxtel, Netherlands by Fashion Architecture Taste
Tietgenkollegiet, Copenhagen, Denmark by Lundgaard & Tranberg Arkitekfirma
Villa in the Var, Bargemon, France by Dixon Jones

The Lubetkin Prize 2007 winner is Southern Cross Station, Melbourne, Australia by Grimshaw (working within the Grimshaw Jackson Joint Venture).

The RIBA Client of the Year 2007 winner is Derwent London for commissioning projects that include the Broadwick Street building by Richard Rogers Partnership in 2003; the Davidson Building in Covent Garden by Lifschutz Davidson in 2004, and Dorset Square by McAslan & Partners in 2007.

RIBA National Award winners, with the winners of RIBA Awards, are also eligible for a series of special awards to be presented at the RIBA Stirling Prize ceremony. For details of these and all the RIBA award winners please visit