Recipients of the 2014 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture announced

The Canada Council for the Arts and RAIC | Architecture Canada recently announced the recipients of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture. The awards celebrate outstanding design in recently completed projects by Canadian architects. The winning buildings reflect excellence in sustainable design, innovation and compatibility with the landscape.

The 2014 winners are:

* 60 Richmond East Housing Co-Operative in Toronto by Teeple Architects Inc.

* Centennial College Athletic and Wellness Centre in Toronto by Kongats Architects

* Centre for International Governance Innovation Campus in Waterloo, Ontario by KPMB Architects

* Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Centre for Drug Research and Development, University of British Columbia in Vancouver by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes/Hughes Condon Marler Architects

* Joseph L. Rotman School of Management Expansion, University of Toronto by KPMB Architects

* Mies van der Rohe Gas Station Conversion in Verdun, Quebec by Les Architectes FABG

* North Vancouver City Hall by lead design architect: Michael Green, FRAIC, AIBC, formerly of mcfarlane green biggar ARCHITECTURE + DESIGN, now of MGA | MICHAEL GREEN ARCHITECTURE

* OMS Stage in Winnipeg by 5468796 Architecture Inc.

* Raymond-Lévesque Public Library in Saint-Hubert, Quebec by Atelier TAG and Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes en consortium

* Residence for the Sisters of St. Joseph of Toronto by Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc.

* The Bloor Gladstone Library in Toronto by RDH Architects Inc. in association with Shoalts and Zaback Architects Ltd.

* Tula House on Quadra Island, BC by Patkau Architects Inc.

Eleven of the 12 buildings selected this year were built to enhance community life. Projects include cooperative housing, university buildings, a city hall, a community centre, an outdoor stage and two libraries. Winners will present their projects in a free public lecture in the auditorium of the National Gallery of Canada on May 12, 2014 at 6:00pm, and the Awards will be presented during a ceremony at Rideau Hall on May 13, 2014 at 2:00pm.

“Our built environments have a profound impact on our lives and communities,” said His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada. “That is why I am so pleased to honour the many talented Canadian architects at work today, including the recipients of this year’s Governor General’s Medals in Architecture. Working as individuals and in teams, they have made lasting architectural contributions to communities in Canada and internationally, and for that I am truly grateful.”

According to Robert Sirman, Director and CEO of the Canada Council, “The 2014 winning projects are gathering places for sharing knowledge, building community, governing cities, meeting neighbours and engaging with the arts and culture. Architecture may well be the art form that affects us most and the Canada Council for the Arts is proud to celebrate the best of Canadian architecture with these awards.”

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture, created by RAIC | Architecture Canada contribute to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and increase public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly with the Canada Council for the Arts, which is responsible for the adjudication process and contributes to the publication highlighting the medal winners.

Members of the 2014 peer assessment committee were: James KM Cheng, FRAIC; Maxime Frappier, MIRAC; David Miller, MRAIC; Roberta Brandes Gratz; and Dorte Mandrup.

For more information, please visit