RAIC Metro Vancouver Chapter announces 2015 Advocates of Architecture Award recipients

The Metro Vancouver Chapter of the RAIC has announced the 2015 Award recipients of the Advocates of Architecture from its community. These individuals and organizations efforts have inspired a dialogue of critical issues relevant to the architectural industry and have contributed to society’s increased awareness and appreciation of the significant role architecture plays in all our lives.
 On Thursday October 29, 2015, these five remarkable British Columbians and organizations will be recognized and celebrated as they receive the 2015 Advocates of Architecture Award.

The recipients are:
 Adele Weder, Architectural Writer and Curator; Andy Yan, MCIP, RPP, GISP, senior urban planner with Bing Thom Architects and a researcher with BTAworks; Scot Hein, Adjunct Professor at the University of British Columbia; 
MEC (Mountain Equipment Co-op) and Corin Flood of Green Building Consulting and Design.

These annual awards celebrate outstanding citizens who, through their vision and extraordinary efforts in the built environment, have made significant contributions to our society. As a result of their leadership and dedication, our lives are richer, our communities more sustainable and our cities more vibrant. RAIC | Architecture Canada is the county’s largest and oldest organization representing the architectural profession.
 The awards evening will include a presentation by distinguished Vancouver architect Walter Francl, Architect AIBC, FRAIC as the keynote speaker.
Ticket sale proceeds raised from this dinner go towards future Metro Vancouver Chapter speaker series, MOV – RAIC Built City series, student and intern events, Vancouver Design Week, Architecture4kids program, competitions, as well as stronger advocacy of architecture in BC.

Past recipients of this award include: Kiyoshi Matsuzaki, FRAIC Architect; 
Stanley King, MRAIC Architect, co-design pioneer;
 Donald Luxton, MRAIC, heritage consultant;
 Peeroj Thakre, MRAIC;
 Gordon Price, Director of The City Program at SFU; 
Dr. Michael Stevenson, President/Vice-Chancellor SFU; The West Vancouver Museum, Darrin Morrison, Kiriko Watanabe, Isaac Vanderhorst;
 Trevor Duncan Boddy, MRAIC, architecture critic;
 Steven Cox, founding principal and design director of Cause+Affect; 
Susan Ng Chung, teacher, Prince of Wales Secondary School;
 Cheryl Cooper, director, art consultant, art historian;
 Greg Bellerby, director, curator, Charles Scott Gallery, Emily Carr University; 
Robert Lemon, MAIBC, heritage architect; 
Dianne Watts, mayor of Surrey;
 Dr. John B. Robinson, associate provost, Sustainability at UBC;
 The Museum of Vancouver; 
Vancouver Board of Parks and Recreation;
 Dwayne C. Smyth, MRAIC;
 Eva Matsuzaki, FRAIC; Gregor Robertson, mayor of the City of Vancouver; 
Leslie Van Duzer, director of the UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture;
 Bob Williams, director, Van City Board of Directors, former provincial cabinet minister and chair of ICBC; Michael Apostolides & The Vancouver League for Architecture and the Environment; 
Stanley Kwok, architect, urban planner and city builder.

The RAIC Metro Vancouver Advocacy Awards event takes place at 6:00pm on Thursday, October 29, 2015 in the Italian Cultural Centre’s Grand Hall, located at 3075 Slocan Street in Vancouver.

For more information contact and to purchase tickets to the event, please visit https://www.eply.com/2015AdvocacyAwardsDinnerBC1307910