RAIC Foundation Awards

The RAIC has announced that the 2007 RAIC Foundation Award is available. The amount of the award for 2007 is $2,500.

The mission of the RAIC Foundation is to develop programs to:

*ensure a vibrant place for architecture in Canadian society
*advance excellence in architecture
*promote the development of programs to support the architectural profession throughout Canada

The RAIC Foundation is maintained entirely by voluntary contributions and has funding available to provide financial assistance for worthwhile projects that advance the understanding and awareness of architecture, both to the public and to the profession.

Awards established in 1998 are available for projects that relate to the history of architecture in its broadest sense, that encourage public education, or that make possible significant scholarly research that results in publications, exhibitions, symposia, lectures, and/or conferences.

The Foundation has funding for the 2007 fiscal year for an Award in the amount of $2,500. Selection of the recipient or recipients of the award will be at the discretion of the selection committee. The deadline for submission of proposals is March 29th, 2007. Proposals will then be considered and the Award announced at the RAIC Annual Festival of Architecture in Toronto, May 9-12, 2007.

Previous recipients are as follows:

2006 Not awarded
2005 Kristina Ljubanovic, Ayesha, Qaisar, Sean Solowski on behalf of the Canadian Architecture Students Association, for A Guide to Canadian Graduate Schools of Architecture
2004 John Leroux, MRAIC, for Building New Brunswick/Btir le Nouveau-Brunswick
2003 Liza Valentine for Annual Peep Show Competition
2002 Philippe Lemay for Le Bulletin du patrimoine
2001 Edwin H. Cavanaugh, MRAIC for Design and Community-based Coastal Development
2000 Unknown
1998/99 Michael Apostolides for Sea Change from the Vancouver League of Studies

For more information, please visit www.raic.org/raic/raic_foundation/awards-foundation_e.htm