RAIC | Architecture Canada announces 2013 Architectural Firm Award recipient

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) has announced Hariri Pontarini Architects as the recipient of its 2013 Architectural Firm Award. Founded in 1994, Hariri Pontarini Architects (HPA) is a Toronto-based, full-service architectural practice known for creating modern landmarks. The firm’s work has been recognized locally, nationally and internationally, having won over 60 awards, including the Governor General’s Medal in Architecture for the Schulich School of Business and Executive Learning Centre.

In choosing the firm, the jury noted that “Hariri Pontarini Architects’ work is noteworthy and significant in the rigour, balance, and utter refinement of form, materials and detail control and in the utmost precision in execution, evidenced in all their projects. The jury particularly appreciated the range of work – from high-rise housing to public buildings – all demonstrating responsiveness to site, program and tectonics.”

HPA’s portfolio covers a broad range of institutional, cultural, commercial and residential projects. The firm is committed to the development of design as a meaningful cultural, social, and economic endeavour. Its process is based on intensive research, dedication to detail and craftsmanship, an emphasis on sustainability, sensitivity to site, and open collaborations. The firm designs from the inside out, emphasizing the importance of the user experience and promoting a positive contribution to the wider community.

HPA also recognizes the importance of a holistic approach to architecture, education, and practice. It supports efforts at various levels to foster interest in design and architecture, and continuous learning both internally and externally.

The RAIC Architectural Firm Award recognizes the achievements of a firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its clients, its innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education and to professional institutions and associations and public recognition.

The 2013 jury was made up of: Peter Cardew, MRAIC (2012 Gold Medal Recipient); Anne Cormier, Rick Haldenby, FRAIC; Barry Johns, FRAIC; Marianne McKenna, FRAIC; Lola Sheppard, MRAIC; and Yves Gosselin, PP/FIRAC as professional advisor.

The RAIC is a voluntary national association established in 1907 as the voice for architecture and its practice in Canada. Representing more than 4,600 members, the RAIC works: to affirm that architecture matters; to celebrate the richness and diversity of architecture in Canada; and to support architects in achieving excellence.