Premier’s Awards of Excellence in Design announced

The Design Council of Saskatchewan recently held Design Week in Saskatoon. Design Week is an open invitation to learn about the different areas of design through a series of free lectures, all open to the general public. Distinguished lecturers included architect Brian MacKay-Lyons of MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, engineer Duane Palibroda of Fast + Epp, graphic and communications designer Udo Schliemann of Entro Communications, and landscape architect Denise Husband. The week ended with Lounging at the Loft – a night of music, celebration and socializing highlighted by the announcement of the winners of the Premier’s Design Awards program.

The winners are as follows:

In the Architecture category, the Premier’s Award of Excellence in Design went to the University of Saskatchewan Graduate Residence in Saskatoon by Stantec Architecture Ltd., while an Award of Merit recognized the Arcola Community School in Regina by P3 Architecture.

In the Community Planning category, Brook McIlroy’s College Quarter Master Plan for the University of Saskatchewan netted an Award of Merit.

In the Engineering category, Electro Separation Cell (ESC) – Ground Effects Environmental Services Inc. received a Premier’s Award of Excellence in Design.

In the Graphic Design category, Hansen Ross Pottery: Pioneering Fine Craft on the Prairies by Catharine Bradbury of Bradbury Branding & Design won a Premier’s Award of Excellence in Design, and three projects won Awards of Merit: Germ Smart Awareness Campaign for the Saskatoon Health Region by Christian Jensen of Christian Jensen Communication Design; Ness Creek Music Festival Visual Identity by Colin McFadyen of Refresh; and the Saskatoon Public Library’s 2012 Numbers Campaign by Tim Neal, David Melashenko, Rebecca Harbin and Pam Cradock of Tap Communications.

In the Interior Design category, the Premier’s Award of Excellence in Design recognized the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame in Swift Current by P3 Architecture, and two Awards of Merit were won by the University of Saskatchewan Nursing Program in Regina by Stantec Architecture Ltd., and the Affinity Credit Union Campus in Saskatoon by Kindrachuk Agrey Architecture.

In the Landscape Architecture category, Stonebridge Special Use Parks in Saskatoon by Stantec Consulting Ltd. won the Premier’s Award of Excellence in Design, and in the Integrated Design category, an Award of Merit was given to Kinsmen Park & Area Master Plan in Saskatoon by space2space design inc./Matthew Woodruff Architecture/id public art consulting/Associated Engineering in collaboration with the City of Saskatoon, PotashCorp, the Kinsmen Club of Saskatoon and the Meewasin Valley Authority.

A volunteer organization formed in 1983, the Design Council of Saskatchewan is the collective voice of the six provincial associations representing design professionals working in the disciplines of architecture, community planning, engineering, graphic design, interior design and landscape architecture.

For more information about Design Week and the Design Council of Saskatchewan, please visit