Open call for the 13th Tile of Spain Awards for Architecture and Interior Design

The Spanish Ceramic Tile Manufacturers’ Association (ASCER) is launching the 13th edition of the competition. The jury comprises prominent national and international professionals as it does every year, and is presided over by architect Emilio Tuñón, who, together with the late Luis Moreno Mansilla, founded a studio that has received many prestigious prizes including the Mies van der Rohe Award and the Spanish National Architecture Award. The remainder of the panel of judges is made up of the Italian architect Cino Zucchi; the executive director of the Pritzker Awards Martha Thorne; the Indian-born architect Anupama Kundoo; the young architect José María Sánchez, recent winner of the BSI Swiss Architectural Award which acknowledges architects under 50 years of age whose work has contributed to improving theoretical and practical aspects of contemporary architecture; Fernando Márquez Cecilia, editor and director of El Croquis architecture journal; and the Castellón-based architect Ramón Monfort.

Registration is open and the submission deadline is October 28, 2014. The Awards have a prize fund of 39,000 Euros divided into three categories. The two main categories are Architecture and Interior Design, each one is awarded 17,000 Euros. The main requirement to participate is that the projects use ceramic tiles made in Spain. The third category is Degree Project category, which is aimed to students of Architecture and it is awarded 5,000 Euros. The jury may give two special mentions in each category as it considers the projects to be rewarded.

Previously awarded projects in previous editions include: Catering School in a Former Abattoir, Granada’s Teacher Training College, MUCA (Auditorium and Music House); Casa Collage in Girona; a residential building project in Barcelona by Bach arquitectes; the Benidorm West Beach Promenade; the rehabilitation of Santa Caterina Market in Barcelona by Miralles-Tagliabue; and the Spanish Pavilion in Expo Zaragoza (2008) and in the Aichi Expo in Japan (2005).

The rules for the competition and the application form for registration can be found at