Ontario Heritage Trust announces 2014 Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Award recipients

Each year, the Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards celebrate individuals, groups and communities that have made outstanding contributions to conserving Ontario’s heritage. In 2014, the award program was enhanced to focus on leadership, commitment, creativity, positive impact on community and good conservation practices. A new award—Excellence in Conservation—was introduced.

This year’s winners are:

Youth Achievement—Individual/Young Heritage Leaders scholarship
*Mélanie-Rose Frappier (Sudbury)
*Muhammad Qureshi (Mississauga)

Youth Achievement—Groups
*Huzza for Freedom: Political Cartoons and the War of 1812 Exhibit (Toronto)
*Juno Beach Project (Smiths Falls, Oakville and Owen Sound)
*Métis Nation of Ontario Canoe Expedition (province-wide project)

Lifetime Achievement
*Bill Darfler (Brantford)
*George Gordon (Oakville)
*Wayne Hunter (Brantford)
*Susan Laing (Clarington)
*William Marks (Bradford West Gwillimbury)
*Patricia Rosebrugh (Waterloo)
*Allan Smith (Grimsby)
*Barbara Weese (Greater Napanee)

Excellence in Conservation
*The City of Barrie and E.R.A. Architects Inc. for the restoration of Allandale CNR Station
*John and Josefa Dunstall for restoration of Grimsby Old Firehall
*The City of Mississauga, ATA Architects Inc. and Baker Turner Inc. for rehabilitation of Holcim Waterfront Estate

Community Leadership
*Town of Grimsby

The Ontario Heritage Trust is an agency of the Government of Ontario dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting Ontario’s heritage.

For more information, please visit www.heritagetrust.on.ca/News-and-Events/2015/Feb/Ontario-Heritage-Trust-announces-2014-Lieutenant-G.aspx