Ontario Association of Architects Reveals Design Excellence Awards Finalists

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has announced the 20 finalists for the OAA Design Excellence Awards. This year’s short-listed projects include public swimming pools, Ontario homes, sustainably designed education spaces, and well-crafted government projects.

Chosen by a jury of design and architecture experts, the selection of projects will be further refined into a list of 10 winners. The winners—as well as the recipients of the Best Emerging Practice, G. Randy Roberts Service Award, Lifetime Design Achievement, and Order of da Vinci—will be announced on Friday, April 3. The awards will be given out during the 2020 OAA Conference, “Shifting Paradigms,” which takes place in Toronto from May 27 to 29.

The biennial OAA Awards program offers Ontario architects an opportunity to present their work to the public and to a professional audience, demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole.

This year, for the first time, the program required Energy Use Intensity (EUI) metrics for all submissions. This reflects the OAA’s belief that sustainable design is no longer a specialty, but rather a critical component of all projects as the architecture profession strives to find ways to ensure the built environment contributes to climate stability.

“I’m excited about the jury’s selections for this year’s 2020 Design Excellence Awards, and I am pleased to be able to finally share them with you today. These projects are exemplary of the outstanding work being done by Ontario architects,” says OAA President Kathleen Kurtin. “I was particularly happy to see the quality and innovation in this year’s finalists, given that it was the first time EUI was included as a mandatory requirement of the submission process. Climate stability is a priority for the Association, and these awards demonstrate that Design Excellence is not limited by building responsibly for the future, but rather enriched.”

Selected from 79 eligible submissions, the 20 finalists were judged on creativity, context, sustainability, good design/good business, and legacy.

The 2020 OAA Design Excellence Awards Finalists are:

Bostwick Community Centre, YMCA and London Public Library (London, Ont.)
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. in association with A+LINK Architecture Inc.

Photo Credit: Doublespace Photography

Borden Natural Park Natural Swimming Pool (Edmonton, Alta.)
gh3 inc.

Photo Credit: gh3*

Branksome Hall Athletics and Wellness Centre (Toronto, Ont.)
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Photo Credit: Shai Gil

The Brearley School (New York City, N.Y.)
KPMB Architects

Photo Credit: Nic Lehoux

The Commons, University of British Columbia Okanagan Campus (Kelowna, B.C.)
Moriyama & Teshima Architects with MQN Architecture & Interior Design

Photo Credit: Riley Snelling

Essex Centre of Research (Windsor, Ont.)
Hariri Pontarini Architects

Photo Credit: Doublespace Photography

Gore Meadows Community Ice Rink & Events Pavilion (Brampton, Ont.)
ZAS Architects Inc.

Photo Credit: Michael Muraz

Government of Canada Visitor Welcome Centre (Ottawa, Ont.)
IBI Group Architects (Canada) Inc. [Prime Consultant] and Moriyama & Teshima Architects (Canada) [Design Architect]

Photo Credit: James Brittain

Holy Blossom Temple (Toronto, Ont.)
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Photo Credit: Tom Arban Photography

Idea Exchange Old Post Office (Cambridge, Ont.)
Rounthwaite, Dick and Hadley Architects Inc.

Photo Credit: RDHA

Lazaridis Hall (Waterloo, Ont.)
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated in Association with David Thompson Architect Ltd.

Photo Credit: Tom Arban Photography

River City Phase 3 (Toronto, Ont.)
Saucier + Perotte Architectes in joint venture with ZAS Architects

Photo Credit: Saucier+Perrotte Architectes / ZAS Architects

The Rob and Cheryl McEwen Graduate Study & Research Building, Schulich School of Business (Toronto, Ont.)
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc.

Photo Credit: Tom Arban

Ronald O. Perelman Center for Political Science and Economics, University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, Pa.)
KPMB Architects

Photo Credit: Adrian Williams

Semi Semi (Toronto, Ont.)
COMN Architects Inc.

Photo Credit: Doublespace Photography

Senate of Canada Building (Ottawa, Ont.)
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated and KWC Architects Inc. in Joint Venture

Photo Credit: Tom Arban Photography

Trent University Student Centre (Peterborough, Ont.)
Teeple Architects Inc.

Photo Credit: Andrew Latreille

What Remains to be Seen (Toronto, Ont.)
Superkül Inc.

Photo Credit: Ben Rahn I A-Frame

Woodhouse (Singhampton, Ont.)
Superkül Inc.

Photo Credit: Alex Fradkin

Wilson School of Design, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Richmond, B.C.)
KPMB Architects + Public: Architecture + Communication

Photo Credit: Adrian Williams