Ontario Association of Architects announces 2012 award winners

Representing the best in architectural design and innovation, winners of the 2012 Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards include both emerging new talent and some of the province’s most established architecture firms.

Designed by Ontario architects, 15 new built projects in Toronto, Ottawa, Mississauga, Waterloo, Mulmur, Nobel, Vaughan, Peterborough Montreal and Phuket, Thailand, have been distinguished in the ‘Design Excellence’ category.   More than 160 submissions judged by a jury of peers from the design community on a variety of criteria including; sustainability, creativity, legacy, good design/good business and overall context, exemplify the significance of architecture in the public realm.

Celebrating forward-thinking design and leadership in architecture, more than 30 winners in nine categories will be recognized at a formal awards ceremony in Ottawa this May. 

2012 OAA Awards  – List of Winners

Design Excellence

Bay Adelaide Centre – West Tower
Toronto, Ontario
WZMH Architects

Bluepoint Pavilion
Phuket, Thailand
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

Carling Residence
Nobel, Ontario
Tact Architecture Inc.

Espace culturel Georges-Émile Lapalme
Montréal, Québec
Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux and Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes

Mulmur, Ontario
superkül Inc., Architect

James Bartleman Archives and Library Materials Centre Archives et Centre de distribution du matériel de la bibliothèque James-Bartleman
Ottawa, Ontario
Shoalts and Zaback  Architects Ltd. & Barry J. Hobin and Associates Architects Inc.

Lawren Harris House
Toronto, Ontario
Drew Mandel Architects

Ottawa Convention Centre
Ottawa, Ontario
bbb Architects Ottawa Inc.

 Rideau Canal Skateway Chalets
Ottawa, Ontario
CSV Consultants Inc. Architects

Sisters of St. Joseph Motherhouse
Peterborough, Ontario
Teeple Architects Inc.

Toronto, Ontario
superkül Inc., Architect         

Stephen Hawking Centre at the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
Waterloo, Ontario
Teeple Architects Inc.

TIFF Bell Lightbox
Toronto, Ontario
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects

Terrence Donnelly Health Sciences Complex
Mississauga, Ontario
Kongats Architects

Vaughan City Hall
Vaughan, Ontario
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects

Landmark Award

Ryerson Recreation & Athletics Centre
Toronto, Ontario
Lett/Smith Architects

Concepts & Presentations Awards


Honourable Mention
Aaron Finbow, intern architect


Gathering Circle at The Spirit Garden, Prince Arthur’s Landing, Thunder Bay
Brook McIlroy Architects, Ryan Gorrie & The City of Thunder Bay

Regina Gateway
Paul Raff, architect & Jyhling Lee, architect (SAA)

Timeline Siteline
Honourable Mention
Sean Solowski, architect & Peter Osborne, student


This is (NOT) a Laneway
Maya Janikowski, student

Temagami Wilderness Camp
Rick Galezowski, intern architect

The Tar Creek Supergrid
Honourable Mention
Amy Norris, intern architect & Clint Langevin, intern architect

Best Emerging Practice

Tact Architecture Inc.

G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Ivan Martinovic

Honour Roll

Graham Adams

Roderick G. Robbie

Lifetime Design Achievement Award

Raymond Moriyama

Order of da Vinci

Robert G. Hill

The 2012 Award winners were chosen by Juries that included members of the public whose interests and background represent many areas of the Ontario design community.

2012 OAA Award Juries:

Design Excellence & Plachta Award

* CHAIR – Adrian Smith, Architect, Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture LLP  
* Tracie Bowie, Vice-President, IIDEX/NeoCon Canada
* Christopher Glaisek, Vice-President,  Planning & Design, Waterfront Toronto
* Ingo Hessel, Curator, Inuit Art   
* Susan Wiggins, Executive Director, Interior Designers of Canada   

Concepts & Presentations Awards

* CHAIR – David W. Oleson, Principal, Oleson Worland Architects
* Sarah Hall, Glass Artist
* Charles Varvarikos, Head of Facilities Sourcing, RBC Canada

Landmark, da Vinci, G. Randy Roberts Award, Honour Roll & Best Emerging Practice

* CHAIR – Jerome Markson, Architect 
* Sheena Sharp, OAA President & Principal, Coolearth Architecture Inc.
* Graham Murfitt, Architect, Smith Carter Architects and Engineers Inc. 
* Diana Osborne, Architect, Osborne Architect

The 2012 awards will be presented in Ottawa on Friday May 11, 2012 at the OAA Celebration of Excellence, hosted by OAA President Sheena Sharp and Master of Ceremonies Evan Solomon at the Canadian Museum of Civilization as part of the OAA Conference running May 9-12, 2012. Additional awards to be announced at the event include Best of Show, the Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award, and People’s Choice.  Voting for People’s Choice is open to the public and will run from Tuesday April 3, to Tuesday April 17, 2012. Members of the public are encouraged to vote online at http://awards.oaa.on.ca/

The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession on an annual opportunity to present their work to the public and a professional audience; demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole; fostering a greater appr
eciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.

For more information about the 2012 OAA Awards and to purchase tickets please visit:  www.oaaconferenceregistration.com