OAQ announces 21 Awards of Excellence finalists

The OAQ has announced the 21 finalist architectural projects for its biannual Awards of Excellence in Architecture. It has also opened the list for a public voting period until March 30; the project that receives the most votes will be awarded the People’s Choice Award on April 21 at the OAQ awards gala.

Awarded since 1978, the OAQ’s Awards of Excellence showcase architectural achievements from the organization’s members. The awards were originally bestowed every two years, and since 2019 have been awarded on an annual basis.

This year, the OAQ Awards Committee has decided to terminate the typological categories according to which the awards were previously attributed. The organization states that this will allow a greater number of projects to be eligible for the Awards of Excellence in Architecture.

“This is intended to encourage the nomination of smaller projects or projects that are more difficult to categorize. From now on, applications will be evaluated as a whole, according to criteria that reflect the OAQ’s vision of socio-ecological transition,” says the OAQ.

This year’s jury includes: Renée Daoust, president of the jury, architect, urban planner and senior partner, Daoust Lestage Lizotte Stecker architecture; Isabelle Beauchamp, associate architect, Blouin Tardif Architects; Rami Bebawi, associate architect, KANVA Architecture; Vladimir Topouzanov, associate architect, Saia Barbarese Topouzanov Architects; Laure Waridel, eco-sociologist, associate professor, Institute of Environmental Sciences at UQAM, columnist at the Journal de Montréal.

The list of final projects includes:

For more information and to vote for the People’s Choice Award, visit www.oaq.com/ordre/prix/prix-dexcellence-en-architecture/prix2023-vote/